Skip to Quick Links BarSkip to Page Content
NCSU Libraries
Search the Collection
Browse Subjects
Services
Library Information
Community
News & Events
Browse Subjects
Get Answers Now

Home: MATHEMATICS

Journals

Software

Websites

Digitization Projects

Need More Help?

Mathematics Subject Guide

Mathematics Software

A large variety of software exists connected to Mathematics. Sites that provide access include:

Penn State Mathematics Library Software Index
NIST Guide to Available Software
Math Archives Software
Sofware for Mathematics
Chartwell-Yorke Mathematics Software
JAVA Numerics
Florida State Software Index
Canadian Mathematical Society Software List


BibTex and EndNote - Citation Software

BibTeX is bibliographic software for use with the scientific document preparation system LaTeX. It is used to take data from a bibliographic database and stylistic information from a bibliography style file to produce a formatted bibliography which LaTeX then reads. The procedure is analogous to Endnote taking data from an endnote library and stylistic information from an endnote style file to produce a formatted bibliography for Word.

Although BibTeX reproduces some of the functionality of EndNote, there is still the problem of how to get the information into BibTeXin the first place. This is usually done the tedious way by typing in the information directly to the .bib file.

EndNote is useful because it can import information from a large number of search engines, library catalogs, and most databases (Z39.50 connections) and then export to BibTeX. Endnote has a built-in Output style called `Bibtex Output'. EndNote is ubiquitous outside of Math and Physics and worth investing in to minimize bibliography preparation time, especially if you will be using literature databases and library catalogs extensively. (thanks to Paul Grassia at UMIST, UK, from which this summary is derived).

RefWorks citation management software is also supported by the NCSU Libraries.

Download BibTeX import utilities RefWorks and EndNote at NCSU More Information

Librarian Contact Information

NCSU Libraries Copyright | Disclaimer | Accessibility | Text Only | Contact Us | Staff Only NC State University