Islam and the Muslim World Research Guide
Popular Topics
Women and Islam - Islamic Science - Islamic Literature and Arts - 9/11 Topics
Women and Islam
Nine parts of desire : the hidden world of Islamic women by Geraldine Brooks
D. H. Hill Library, HQ1170 .B76 1995
Account by Wall Street Journal correspondant who spent six years in the middle east trying to understand the completies in the lives of Muslim women.
Contemporary Women's Issues
Full-text access to global information on women, including articles in journals, newsletters, and research reports from non-profit groups, government and international agencies.
Islamic Sciences
Library of Congress Subject Headings:
Astronomy, Islamic Countries
Science, Islamic Countries
Islam and Science
Encyclopedia of the History of Arabic Science
D. H. Hill Library Reference Q127 .A5 E53 1996
Three volume collection of articles on Arabic contributions to science, particulary during the Middle Ages.
Islamic Science: An Illustrated History
D. H. Hill Library Folio Q127 .N15 N37
Combines illustrations with study of texts from all areas of Islamic sciences.
Literature and the Arts
Library of Congress Subject headings:
Islamic Literature
Islam in Literature
Arabic Literature
Architecture, Islamic
Art, Islamic
Encyclopedia of Arabic Literature
D. H. Hill Library Reference PJ7510 .E53 1998
Two-volume reference work providing biographical articles on authors who write in Arabic, as well as article on Arabic writing and literary genres. Covers Islamic as well as non-Islamic authors.
The Genius of Arab Civilization: Source of Renaissance
D. H. Hill Library Folio DS36.85 .G46 1992
Beautifully illustrated book covers Arab contributions to literature, philosophy, art, music, sciences, and commerce. The first chapter explores the Arab role in Islamic culture.
Dictionary of Islamic architecture
Design Library Reference NA380 .P43 1996
This dictionary is global in scope, providing definitions of
architectural terms, descriptions of specific buildings, monuments and
sites, summaries of regional and historic groups within Islam,
information on major Islamic cities, and biographies. It also provides
recommendations for further readings with the entries.
Islamic Architecture: Form, Function, and Meaning by Robert Hillenbrand
Design Library NA380 .H52 1994
This source approaches Islamic architecture topologically, organizing
the information by building type.
The story of Islamic architecture by Richard Yeomans
Design Library NA380 .Y46 2000
Illustrated book that attempts to show the effects of religious and social influences on shapes and forms in Islamic architecture.
Topics Related to 9/11
Islamic Fundamentalism by Lawrence Davidson
D. H. Hill Library BP60 .D38 1998
This book seeks to describe and analyze Islamic fundamentalism, starting with the Society of the Muslim Brothers and then discussing more recent groups. Includes a time line, biographies, glossary, and primary documents.
Articles:
Lewis, Bernard. The Roots of Muslim Rage. The Atlantic Monthly (September 1990), Volume 266, No. 3, pages 47 - 60.
Zakaria, Fareed. The Politics of Rage: Why Do They Hate Us? Newsweek (October 15, 2001), Volume 138, No. 16.
Librarian Contact Information
|