Skip to Quick Links BarSkip to Page Content
NCSU Libraries
Search the Collection
Browse Subjects
Services
Library Information
Community
News & Events
Browse Subjects
Get Answers Now

Home: ISLAM AND THE MUSLIM WORLD

Reference Works

Browsing Areas and Subject Headings

Indexes

Popular Topics

Web Resources

Periodicals

Films

Advanced Research

Islam and the Muslim World Research Guide

Reference Works

History of Islam - Modern Muslim World - Qur'an and Muhammad - Atlases


History of Islam and the Muslim World

The Encyclopaedia of Islam, new ed. (11 volumes)
D. H. Hill Reference DS37 .E523
Major scholarly reference work, prepared by leading Orientalists, with signed articles and bibliographies. Knowledge of Arabic useful to get the most out of this source.

The Cambridge Illustrated History of the Islamic World
D. H. Hill Library DS35.63 .C35 1996
Good introduction to students who want to gain an understanding the complexities within Islam and the relationship of Islam to Western thought and institutions. Includes illustrations, photographs and maps.

Oxford History of Islam
D. H. Hill Library BP50 .O95 1999
Good overview of the evolution of Islam, with sections on law, science, art, philosophy and covering Islam in different parts of the world. Very helpful annotated bibliography at end of volume.

Islam: A Short History
D. H. Hill Library BP50 .A69 2000
Introduction to the history of Islam with a focus on political aspects. Armstrong makes an effort to dispel the notion that fundamentalist extremism characterizes Islam more than other religions.

Islam: A Concise Introduction
D. H. Hill Library BP161.2 .R63 1999
This book is aimed at the general reader with no prior experience studying Islam. It provides a very effective introduction to the spread of Islam throughout the world, and to other key concepts that are integral to gaining an understanding of Islam.

A Chronology of Islamic History, 570-1000 CE
D. H. Hill Reference DS38.3 .R35 1989
Provides a chronological framework for understanding this period of Islamic history. Each entry is self-contained and provides detailed information about specific historical events while putting them in context.

Modern Islam and the Muslim World

Encyclopedia of Islam and the Muslim World
D.H. Hill Reference BP40 .E525
This encyclopedia looks at Islam's role in the modern world, doing so in context of the religion's history and development over the last 13 centuries. Contains thematic articles, biographies of key figures, definitions, illustrations, maps and more.

Oxford Encyclopedia of the Modern Islamic World
D. H. Hill Reference DS35.53 .O95 1995
Focuses on period from the end of the 18th century to the present throughout the world. Also covers movements and parties within Islam.

Cambridge Encyclopedia of the Middle East and North Africa
D. H. Hill Reference DS44 .C37 1988
One-volume regional encyclopedia with focus on social and cultural issues. Use index to locate material on Islamic topics.

Islam Today: A Short Introduction to the Muslim World by Akbar S. Ahmed
D. H. Hill Library BP163 .A35 1999
Aimed at the non-Muslim reader, this book seeks to dispel ignorance and stereotypes of Islam. Focus is on Muslim nations and Western modernity, different groups within Islam, and issues relating to women and the media.

Islam in America by Jane Smith
D. H. Hill Library BP67.U6 S6 1999
Focused on Islam in the United States, and specifically the effect of Western cultural influences on American Muslims. Also includes information on African-American adherents to Islam.

Historical Dictionary of Islamic Fundamentalist Movements in the Arab World, Iran, and Turkey
D. H. Hill Library BP60 .M36 1999
Covers groups, their leaders, and the beliefs on which they are based. Also includes a chronology.

Qur'an and Biographies of Muhammad

Qur'an

Encyclopaedia of the Qur'an
D. H. Hill Library BP133 .E53 2001
One of the only reference works entirely devoted to Qur'an scholarship, with articles by both Muslim and non-Muslim.

The Meaning of the Holy Qur'an Translated by Abdullah Yusuf Ali, New revised 8th ed.
D. H. Hill Library BP109 1996
Poetic translation, reasonably reliable.

The Koran Interpreted Translated by Arthur Arberry
D. H. Hill Library BP109 .A7
Poetic translation, uses Edwardian English. More accurate than other translations.

The meaning of the Glorious Koran. Translated by Mohammed Marmaduke Pickthall
D.H Hill Library BP109 .P5
Classic, explanatory translation.

The Quran: A New Interpretation. Textual exegesis by Muhammad Baqir Behbudi, English translation by Colin Turner
D. H. Hill Library BP109 1997a
In English with Arabic Text. A highly-interpretive modern translation.

An electronic version is available from the University of Virginia Electronic Text Center at: http://etext.lib.virginia.edu/koran.html

Concordance of the Qur'an
D. H. Hill Library BP133 .K37 1983
Enables the English-speaking reader to look up a term and find places in the translated Qur'an which use the word itself, as well as words deriving from the same Arabic root.

Biographies of Muhammad

The life of Muhammad; a translation of Ishaq's Sirat rasul Allah
D. H. Hill Library BP75 .I250 1967
Traditional biography.

Muhammad: prophet and statesman by William M. Watt
D. H. Hill Library BP75 .W33 1964
Critical biography.

Atlases

Atlas of the World's Religions
D. H. Hill Reference-Geography BL80.2 .A84 1999
Chapter 8 focuses on the spread of Islam, starting with Pre-Islamic Arabia and ending with the varieties of Islam today. Effectively shows how migrations of groups brought about the spread of Islamic ideas.

An Historical Atlas of Islam
D. H. Hill Folio-2 G1785 .H570 1981
Produced by the editors of the Encyclopedia of Islam.

Atlas of the Islamic World since 1500
D. H. Hill Folio DS35.6 .R6 1982
Although the primary focus is on the last 500 years, the first chapter deals with the first nine centuries. Included are not only maps but also information on Islamic societies throughout the world. Attention is focused on the evolution of Islamic empires.


Librarian Contact Information

NCSU Libraries Copyright | Disclaimer | Accessibility | Text Only | Contact Us | Staff Only NC State University