Skip to Quick Links BarSkip to Page Content
NCSU Libraries
Search the Collection
Browse Subjects
Services
Library Information
Community
News & Events
Browse Subjects
Get Answers Now

Home: ISLAM AND THE MUSLIM WORLD

Reference Works

Browsing Areas and Subject Headings

Indexes

Popular Topics

Web Resources

Periodicals

Films

Advanced Research

Islam and the Muslim World Research Guide

Indexes

ATLA Religion Database
Use to search for articles in journals and multi-author works in scholarly religion and theology literature. Database goes back to 1949.

Historical Abstracts
Use to search for articles in history journals covering the historical period from the period 1450 to present. Includes abstracts. Database goes back to 1967.

Wilson OmniFile
Use to find articles in journals across many disciplines. Includes indexing to history journals covering period before 1450 in the humanities portion. You can limit your search to the humanities by using the pulldown menu labeled "Source." This database includes full-text access to some articles. Database goes back to 1982.

Bibliography of Asian Studies
Use to search for articles in periodicals pertaining to east, southeast, and south Asia. The "Browse by Country" feature allows you to browse for articles on different topics for specific countries. Islam is a choice under "Philosophy and Religion" in the browse lists for many countries. Index goes back to 1971.

PAIS International (Public Affairs Information Service)
Use to search for information in public and social policy, political science, international relations, law, public administration, and government. In addition to journal articles, this database also provides access to some government documents and statistical materials. Database goes back to 1976.

Academic Universe
Academic Universe allows NCSU faculty, students and staff to locate full-text articles in many news and legal periodicals. Newspapers are updated several times daily, and wire services hourly. Note that you can select "News," and see options for searching a wide variety of news sources. One of these options, "World News," allows you to search for news articles from specific regions of the world such as Asia/Pacific or Middle East/Africa news sources. This is a full text database, so search terms often retrieve many hits.


Librarian Contact Information

NCSU Libraries Copyright | Disclaimer | Accessibility | Text Only | Contact Us | Staff Only NC State University