Skip to Quick Links BarSkip to Page Content
NCSU Libraries
Search the Collection
Browse Subjects
Services
Library Information
Community
News & Events
Browse Subjects
Get Answers Now

Home: HORTICULTURE

Print Resources

Electronic Journals

Web Sites

Organizations

Course Descriptions

Horticulture Research Guide

Useful Horticulture Web Sites

Relevant Web Sites: Botany, Horticulture

Biodiversity and Biological Collections Web Server - http://biodiversity.uno.edu/
Find information about specimens in biological collections, taxonomic authority files, directories of biologists, reports by various standard bodies, access to online journals, etc.
Horticulture in Virtual Perspective -http://www.hcs.ohio-state.edu/hcs/hcs.html
Provides data on plant biology, a large database of horticulture factsheets, a plant dictionary, and images, solutions to gardening problems, market trends for fruits and vegetables, horticulture as a profession.
Internet Directory for Botany
-http://www.helsinki.fi/kmus/botmenu.html
Links to over 4,000 Botany sites on the Web, divided into 18 categories including botanical gardens, biologist's addresses, botanical museums, botanical societies, taxonomic databases, gardening, images, literature databases, newsgroups, lower plants, university departments, and more.
WWW Virtual Library: Botany -http://www.ou.edu/cas/botany-micro/www-vl/
Directory includes links to many research, educational sites, journals, organizations, databases, and documents related to plant biology or botany.
HORT FYI - http://hortfyi.com
links to the horticultural and greenhouse industries.
Plant Dictionary- Ohio State University- http://www.hcs.ohio-state.edu/plants.html
Plant Dictionary is an indexed system of teaching resources for the discipline of Horticulture and Crop Science
Something to grow on- http://www.cals.cornell.edu/dept/flori/growon/index.html
Nutrient Managment page produced by Cornell Cooperative Extension
North Carolina Cooperative Extension Service -http://www.ces.ncsu.edu/
Consumer Horticulture- Gardening in NC- http://www.ces.ncsu.edu/depts/hort/consumer/
A great resource for gardeners in NC created by the North Carolina Cooperative Extension Service. Contains plant fact sheets, links to public gardens, soil information and much more.
Hortbase -http://www.forages.css.orst.edu/HortBase/
American Society of Horticultural Science
Plant Gene Register -http://www.tarweed.com/pgr/index.html
American Society of Plant Physiologists

null Top of Page

Grant and Contract Information

Community of Science Funded Research -http://fundedresearch.cos.com/
National Science Foundation Grants and Awards -http://www.nsf.gov/home/grants.htm
USDA Research (CRIS) Database- http://cristel.nal.usda.gov:8080/
GrantsNet- http://www.grantsnet.org/
Funding opportunities in the biological and medical sciences
North Carolina State University Research Administration: Resources http://www2.ncsu.edu/ncsu/research_outreach_extension/resources/

null Top of Page

Full text, numeric and analysis databases

Hortbase - http://www.forages.css.orst.edu/HortBase/
American Society of Horticultural Science
NCBI Taxonomy Database - http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/Taxonomy/taxonomyhome.html/
You can browse the taxonomy tree or search this giant taxonomy database. Although this resource includes species of living organisms, including animals and bacteria, there are 28,335 species in Viridiplantae included in the database.
Plant Gene Register-http://www.tarweed.com/pgr/index.html
American Society of Plant Physiologists
Plants National Database
-http://plants.usda.gov/plantproj/plants/index.html
The PLANTS Database is a single source of standardized information about plants. This database focuses on vascular plants, mosses, liverworts, hornworts, and lichens of the U.S. and its territories. The PLANTS Database includes names, checklists, automated tools, identification information, species abstracts, distributional data, crop information, plant symbols, plant growth data, plant materials information, plant links, references, and other plant information
SciSeek -http://www.sciseek.com
Searchable database on a huge number of links to science and nature Internet resources on agriculture, astronomy, animals, biosciences, botany, environment, chemistry, engineering, forestry, health, physics, veterinary science, and more.
USDA National Agricultural Statistics Service -http://www.usda.gov/nass/
Access to NASS reports, USDA Economics and Statistics System reports and datasets, state agricultural statistics reports, report graphics, and agency information.
USDA Research (CRIS) Database
- http://fundedresearch.cos.com/usda/usda-intro.shtml
(via the Community of Science)
U.S Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO) Patent Database
-http://patents.uspto.gov/

For Fun

The Secret Garden- Floral Radiographs - Stunning virtual gallery of floral radiographs made by Albert Richards, a professor at University of Michigan

null Top of Page

Librarian Contact Information

NCSU Libraries Copyright | Disclaimer | Accessibility | Text Only | Contact Us | Staff Only NC State University