Home: HISTORY

Articles

Books/Library Catalog/Union Catalog

Book Reviews

Early Newspapers

Early Magazines

Early Printed Books

Government Documents

Primary Sources

Digital Collections

Encyclopedias/Reference Tools

Biography

Statistics

Maps and Atlases

Organizations

Writing and Citing Sources

Historiography and Bibliography

Need More Help?

History Research Guide

Using Newspapers in Historical Research

Newspapers can serve as useful primary sources for historical research. They reflect the time period in which they were created, and provide a glimpe into society at the time. Often, however, early periodicals are less readily available in libraries, and less thoroughly indexed than contemporary newspapers. This section is designed to highlight resources that are available locally, and suggest search strageties for locating this type of publication.


Early Newspaper Collections (Electronic)

Early American Newspapers, Series 1 (1690-1876)

An extensive collection of colonial and early republic newspapers.

Accessible Archives

Provides full-text access to a collection of 18th and 19th century primary sources, including some important newspapers from this period. Included in the collection are:

The Pennsylvania gazette, 1728-1800
The Civil War, a newspaper perspective
African American newspapers, the 19th century

Burney Collection, 17th - 18th Century Newspapers

The Burney Newspapers are predominantly London newspapers of the 17th and 18th centuries. The titles range in date from 1603 to the early 1800s.


North Carolina Newspapers

The News and Observer (Raleigh)

Guide to NCSU News and Observer holdings and indexes

North Carolina Historical Newspapers

North Carolina Newspaper Digitization Project
Produced by the North Carolina State Archives, these are digitized versions of the earliest North Carolina newspapers from 1751 to the 1890s.

To locate other North Carolina newspapers on microfilm, see the North Carolina Newspaper Locator, and the North Carolina Newspapers page from the State Library of North Carolina:


New York Times

Proquest Historical Newspapers: The New York Times (1851-about 4 yrs ago)
Provides fully searchable electronic access to the New York Times from 1851-about 4 years ago (rolling wall). Includes full image of the actual newspaper articles. Illustrations and advertisements are usually included.

New York Times via Newspaper Source Plus (1985-present)
Use for electronic access to recent articles the New York Times.

New York Times (1857-present on microfilm)
AN2 .N49 (Satellite Shelving)
In most cases, one of the two databases above will be easier to use than the microfilm. Microfilm may be necessary if the full page image is needed.

Indexing:
New York Times Index
D. H. Hill Lib. AI21 .N44 (3rd floor bookstacks)
This is the standard print index to the New York Times. However, the above databases will be easier to use in most cases.


Los Angeles Times

Proquest Historical Newspapers: Los Angeles Times

Provides fully searchable electronic access to the Los Angeles Times from 1881-1987. Includes full image of the actual newspaper articles. Illustrations and advertisements are usually included.


London Times

The Times (London) (1788-present on microfilm)
AN3 .T56 (Satellite Shelving)

Indexing:
The Times Index
D. H. Hill Lib.. AI21 .T5 (3rd floor bookstacks)


Microfilm Newspapers at NCSU Libraries

NCSU Libraries has many early newspaper runs in microfilm. Most of these are located at the Satellite Shelving Facility can be ordered using Tripsaver. Please consult the lists below.

Microfilm Newspapers List - Arranged Alphabetically by Title
Microfilm Newspapers List - Arranged by Region

Staff are available at D. H. Hill's main Circulation desk to assist users with the microform reading and printing equipment.


Historical Newspapers on the Internet

Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers
Website sponsored by the Library of Congress and the National Endowment for the Humanities to provide access to information about historic and selected digitized newspaper pages.

Online Historical Newspapers Website
This project is trying to track the digitization of local newspapers. Some, but not all, of newspapers are available free of charge.

Historical U.S. Newspapers on the Internet (LibGuide from Bowling Green State University)
Another guide that aims to provide access to online historical newspapers in the United States


Reference Books and Sites For Further Research

American Newspapers, 1821-1936: A Union List of Files Available in the United States and Canada
D. H. Hill Lib. Z6945 .A53

Harvard Guide to American History (vol. 1, p. 131-144)
D. H. Hill Ref. Z1236.F7 1974

History and Bibliography of American Newspapers (Clarence Brigham)
D. H. Hill Lib. Z6951 .B86 1962

Chronological Tables of American Newspapers 1690 - 1820 (American Antiquarian Society)
D. H. Hill Lib Z6951 .L3

Concise History of the British Newspaper
Produced by The British Library

The British Library Newspapers Catalogue
The British Library Newspapers catalogue includes entries for over 52,000 newspaper and periodical titles, including: all UK national daily and Sunday newspapers from 1801 to the present.

Union List of Selected West European Newspapers and News Magazines in New York Metropolitan Libraries
Browse list by Country or by Title.

Often, however, early newspapers are only available at libraries in their own local regions. Major national newspapers are more readily available in many libraries. Due to their size and their tendency to deteriorate, early newspapers are usually not archived in their original print form. Traditionally, they have been preserved on microfilm. More recently, there have been projects to preserve some of this information digitally.


Librarian Contact Information