Skip to Quick Links BarSkip to Page Content
NCSU Libraries
Search the Collection
Browse Subjects
Services
Library Information
Community
News & Events
Browse Subjects
Get Answers Now

Home: HISTORY

Articles

Books/Library Catalog/Union Catalog

Book Reviews

Historical Magazines and Newspapers

Government Documents

Primary Sources

Digital Collections

Encyclopedias/Reference Tools

Biography

Maps and Atlases

Organizations

Writing and Citing Sources

Historiography and Bibliography

Need More Help?

History Research Guide

Maps and Atlases

Maps can enhance your understanding of history by providing a geographic orientation. They can show how changes in political history are reflected by changes in political boundaries over time. They can also highlight topical themes in a visually dramatic manner. Maps can serve as primary sources since they they reflect the perspective of the map creator.

Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection
The University of Texas at Austin provides an excellent gateway to their own digitized geographical resources, as well as other maps available on the web.

Historical Atlas of the 20th Century
http://users.erols.com/mwhite28/20centry.htm


WORLD HISTORY ATLAS

Atlas of World History (Rand McNally, 1995)
D. H. Hill Ref. G1030 .R36 1995 (Geography Section)


REGIONAL HISTORICAL ATLASES

The NCSU Libraries Catalog allows users to enter an L.C. Subject seach in the following format, resulting in a list of historical atlas organized alphabetically by place

historical geography maps [place]

This tool provides a quick glimpse illustrating Library Catalog searches for selected countries
and regions. Look at examples of historical atlases available at NCSU Libraries:

QUICK SEARCH FOR HISTORICAL ATLASES


Librarian Contact Information


Warning: ldap_bind() [function.ldap-bind]: Unable to bind to server: Can't contact LDAP server in /var/www/live/htdocs/guides/includes/contact.php on line 6

Warning: ldap_search() [function.ldap-search]: Search: Can't contact LDAP server in /var/www/live/htdocs/guides/includes/contact.php on line 9

Warning: ldap_sort() expects parameter 2 to be resource, boolean given in /var/www/live/htdocs/guides/includes/contact.php on line 10

Warning: ldap_get_entries(): supplied argument is not a valid ldap result resource in /var/www/live/htdocs/guides/includes/contact.php on line 11
No results.
NCSU Libraries Copyright | Disclaimer | Accessibility | Text Only | Contact Us | Staff Only NC State University