History Research Guide
- Encyclopedias and other reference tools can efficiently provide
you with useful background information and context to help guide your studies.
- Think of them as wikipedia-substitutes - the best
encyclopedias have contributations from scholarly experts the
- They often point you towards important
researchers, and lists of books and articles for further study.
If you are not sure which encyclopedia might contain an article on your topic, type it into Reference Universe for suggestions. This tool indexes thousands of print and electronic reference books.
Gale Virtual Reference Library
Full text access a collection of reference books - over thirty in the area of history.
Britannica Online Encyclopedia: Academic Edition
An electronic version of this basic encyclopedia. This is a good
place for quick lookup, and an easy way to verify facts and dates.
Biographical information on more than 17,400 men and women --
from all eras and walks of life -- whose lives have shaped the
American Decades (9 vols.)
D. H. Hill Ref. E169.12 .A419 1994
Starting with 1900-1909, this set of volumes gives the flavor
of each decade in this century. Covers topics such as arts, business
and economics, education, fashion, government and politics, law
and justice, lifestyles and social trends, media, health and medicine,
religion, science and technology, and sports.
Dictionary of American History (10 vols.)
D. H. Hill Ref. E174 .D52 2003 (also NetLibrary)
Encyclopedia of American History (11 vols.)
D. H. Hill Ref. E174 .E53 2003
Volumes arranged by chronological period.
Encyclopedia of American Social History (3 vols.)
Volume 1 contains articles about specific historical periods.
D. H. Hill Ref. HN57 .E58 1993
Encyclopedia of the North American Colonies
D. H. Hill Ref. E45 .E53 1993
Encyclopedia of the American Civil War
D. H. Hill Ref. E468 .H47 2000
Encyclopedia of the United States in the Nineteenth Century
D. H. Hill Ref. E169.1 .E626 2001
Encyclopedia of African-American Culture and History (6 vols.)
D. H. Hill Ref. E185 .E54 2006
Encyclopedia of American Cultural and Intellectual History (3 vols.)
D. H. Hill Ref. E169.1 .E624 2001
U.S. FOREIGN RELATIONS
Encyclopedia of U.S Foreign Relations
D. H. Hill Ref. E183.7 .E53 1997
Arranged alphabetically - you can look up a president for an overview.
Chronological History of U.S. Foreign Relations
D. H. Hill Ref. E183.7 .B745 2003
Arranged chronologically - you can look for the time period of
Encyclopedia of Latin American History and Culture
D. H. Hill Ref. F1406 .E53 1996
Ancient Europe 8000 B.C. to A.D. 1000: Encyclopedia of the Barbarian World (2 vols.)
D.H. Hill Ref. D62 .A52 2004
Dictionary of the Middle Ages (14 vols.)
D. H. Hill Ref. D114 .D5 1982
Oxford Encyclopedia of the Reformation
D. H. Hill Ref. BR302.8 .O93 1996
Europe 1789 to 1914: Encyclopedia of the Age of Industry and Empire
view resource online
Encyclopedia of European Social History from 1350-2000 (6 vols.)
D. H. Hill Ref. HN373 .E63 2001
Encyclopedia of African History and Culture
D. H. Hill Ref. DT3 .P27 2001
Civilizations of the Ancient Near East
D. H. Hill Ref. DS57 .C55 1995
Encyclopedia of Asian History
D. H. Hill Ref.DS31 .E53 1988
Encyclopedia of India
D.H. Hill Ref. DS405 .E556 2006
Encyclopedia of the Vietnam War
D. H. Hill Ref. DS557.7 .E535 1998
Oxford Encyclopedia of the Modern Islamic World
D. H. Hill Ref. DS35.53 .O95 1995
Librarian Contact Information