Skip to Quick Links BarSkip to Page Content
NCSU Libraries
Search the Collection
Browse Subjects
Services
Library Information
Community
News & Events
Browse Subjects
Get Answers Now

Home: HISTORY

Articles

Books/Library Catalog/Union Catalog

Book Reviews

Historical Magazines and Newspapers

Government Documents

Primary Sources

Digital Collections

Encyclopedias/Reference Tools

Biography

Maps and Atlases

Organizations

Writing and Citing Sources

Historiography and Bibliography

Need More Help?

History Research Guide

Books/Library Catalogs/Union Catalogs

Library catalogs contain the most complete listings of books and other materials selected by particular libraries. Check the NCSU Libraries Catalog first, to see if the the library can provide the material you need. If not, you can use the Interlibrary Loan service to request the material from another library. You can also search for materials held in other libraries.

Books Owned by NCSU

NCSU Libraries Catalog
The NCSU Libraries catalog uses guided navigation system for searching and browsing the library collection. This approach allows you to enter a keyword search, and then browse your search result. The Search Help screen provides an overview of this interface.

The NCSU catalog also links to the library holding at UNC-Chapel Hill, Duke, and North Carolina Central University. These can be searched together if you start from the Search TRLN Catalog.


Requesting Service (for books not owned by NCSU)

Tripsaver
If the material you need is not available, use the Tripsaver link to request the material from another library through our Interlibrary Loan department.


For Further Information About Other Library Holdings

To use Tripsaver, you do not need to know which library has the material, but if you want to explore on your own, the following tools can be helpful:

WorldCat
This is a union catalog that combined information from many academic libraries, as well as Library of Congress. It is the largest single database providing bibliographic information. It also provides some information about which libraries have cataloged particular materials.

National Union Catalog, Pre-1956 Imprints (685 vols.)
D. H. Hill Lib. Oversized Z881.A1 N38
This large set of volumes reproduces catalog cards from Library of Congress, with the addition of cards from other libraries in cases where Library of Congress cataloging was not available. Use to verify bibliographic information on older items that are not listed in WorldCat. It also includes holdings information reflected which libraries housed the items (as of the time the set was published).

Libweb
You can also search other catalogs from other libraries individually. Libweb provides a quick way to find other library catalogs locally and around the world.

The European Library
Searches the content of European National Libraries


Librarian Contact Information


Warning: ldap_bind() [function.ldap-bind]: Unable to bind to server: Can't contact LDAP server in /var/www/live/htdocs/guides/includes/contact.php on line 6

Warning: ldap_search() [function.ldap-search]: Search: Can't contact LDAP server in /var/www/live/htdocs/guides/includes/contact.php on line 9

Warning: ldap_sort() expects parameter 2 to be resource, boolean given in /var/www/live/htdocs/guides/includes/contact.php on line 10

Warning: ldap_get_entries(): supplied argument is not a valid ldap result resource in /var/www/live/htdocs/guides/includes/contact.php on line 11
No results.
NCSU Libraries Copyright | Disclaimer | Accessibility | Text Only | Contact Us | Staff Only NC State University