Books/Library Catalogs/Union Catalogs: History Research Guide

  • Library catalogs contain the most complete listings of books and other materials selected by particular libraries.
  • Check the NCSU Libraries Catalog first, to see if the the library can provide the material you need.
  • If not, use Triplaver to request the material from another library.

Books Owned by NCSU

NCSU Libraries Catalog
The NCSU Libraries catalog uses guided navigation system for searching and browsing the library collection. Just enter a keyword search, then narrow your results using the options on the left side of the screen. Search Help provides an overview of this interface.

The NCSU catalog also links to the library holding at UNC-Chapel Hill, Duke, and North Carolina Central University. (Use the top left portion of your results screen to jump to TRLN results. You also have the option of starting a joint TRLN search from the Search TRLN Catalog.


Interlibrary Loan Service (for books not owned by NCSU)

Tripsaver
If the material you need is not available, use the Tripsaver link to request the material from another library through our Interlibrary Loan department.


For Further Information About Other Library Holdings

To use Tripsaver, you do not need to know which library has the material, but if you want to explore on your own, the following tools can be helpful:

WorldCat
This is a union catalog that combined information from many academic libraries, as well as Library of Congress. It is the largest single database providing bibliographic information. It also provides some information about which libraries have cataloged particular materials.

National Union Catalog, Pre-1956 Imprints (685 vols.)
D. H. Hill Lib. Oversized Z881.A1 N38 (9th floor)
This large set of volumes reproduces catalog cards from Library of Congress, with the addition of cards from other libraries in cases where Library of Congress cataloging was not available. Use to verify bibliographic information on older items that are not listed in WorldCat. It also includes holdings information reflected which libraries housed the items (as of the time the set was published).

Libweb
You can also search other catalogs from other libraries individually. Libweb provides a quick way to find other library catalogs locally and around the world.

The European Library
Searches the content of European National Libraries