Food Science: U.S. Government Information and U.S. Patents
U.S. Government Documents
Publications issued by U.S. government agencies include agency sponsored studies, fact sheets, handbooks, conference proceedings, Senate and
House hearings on bills, and Congressional publications. As a federal depository library, the NCSU Libraries receives approximately 86%
of these documents. They are housed on the second floor of the D. H. Hill Library and are arranged by SuDoc (Superintendent of Documents) call number.
To find out what was published before mid-1976, you will need to consult the printed Monthly Catalog of U.S. Government Publications
in the Reference area of D. H. Hill Library. To find out what we have at the NCSU Libraries, you will have to consult the paper shelf list.
Go to the Reference Desk for assistance.
Federal government documents published since 1976 can be searched by author, title, subject, and keyword.
- To find out what has been published since mid-1976,
you can consult the GPO
Monthly Catalog (a database available from the Libraries' Web page). The record will give you a SuDoc number, and you can then
check our paper shelf list to see if we have it.
- To check to see what we have at the NCSU Libraries for the period from mid-1976--May 1999, you
can also search the NCSU Libraries catalog. (A
project is underway to incorporate the contents of the former U.S. Government Documents Catalog into the NCSU Libraries online catalog.
The online retrospective conversion is not yet complete; if you do a search, you may get a record indicating that we have
a title, but the holdings are not yet entered in many cases; you will then have to consult the paper shelf list to see what years
we have of a serial. Go to the Reference Desk for assistance.)
- Everything that the NCSU Libraries has received since May 1999 has been entered, including holdings, directly
into the NCSU Libraries online catalog.
- GPO Access (Government Printing Office)
Access: Information System and NCSU Libraries World Wide Web.
A service of the U.S. Government Printing Office (GPO) that offers online access to a variety of official Federal government
information. The service provides many databases covering subject areas such as Federal legislation, laws and regulations, the U.S.
Congress and official reports and documents. The databases are updated frequently.
You can also access and search the Code of Federal Regulations directly.
Many of the databases and indexes in the preceding sections index patents. NCSU Libraries is a U.S. Patent Depository Library providing
assistance in searching and access to U.S. patents only. You may also search for U.S. Patents via the World Wide Web using the U.S
Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO) Patent Database.
Librarian Contact Information