Skip to Quick Links BarSkip to Page Content
NCSU Libraries
Search the Collection
Browse Subjects
Services
Library Information
Community
News & Events
Browse Subjects
Get Answers Now

Home: ENTOMOLOGY

Reference Sources
Literature Guides
Encyclopedias
Dictionaries
Handbooks
NC Agricultural Chemicals Manual

Statistics

Finding Journal Articles

Print Indexes and Abstracts

Finding Books

U.S. Government Info and U.S. Patents

Entomology Information on the Internet
Internet Gateways and General Guides
Government Agencies
Cooperative Extension
Organizations and Entomology Departments
Research Grants and Projects
Other Databases
Full Text Resources

Entomology: Print Indexes and Abstracts

Following is a list of print indexes and abstracts to the journal literature. They are especially useful for accessing the older scientific literature.
  • Agricultural Index (continued by the Biological and Agricultural Index)
    D. H. Hill Lib S1 .A1811 (8th floor Book Stack Tower)

    Agricultural Index covers journal articles, as well as selected agricultural experiment station publications, selected state Department of Agriculture publications, and U.S.D.A. publications from 1916-1964.

  • Agroforestry Abstracts (1988-)
    Natural Resources Lib Ref S494.5.A45 A332
  • Applied Science and Technology Index (1958-1995)
    D. H. Hill Lib Ref T10.7 .A88 (older years in Bookstack Tower)
  • Bibliography of Agriculture. Early volumes list author as U.S. Department of Agriculture, Library. Later volumes are listed as "Data provided by National Agricultural Library, U.S. Department of Agriculture."
    D. H. Hill Ref has Vol. 3, no. 1 (July 1943)-present. All volumes are shelved together.
    Details:
    D. H. Hill Ref A 17.18: v.3 (July 1943)- v.33 (Dec. 1969)
    D. H. Hill Ref S1 .B515 v.34 (Jan. 1970)-present

    Bibliography of Agriculture is an index to journals and selected agricultural experiment station and extension publications owned by the National Agricultural Library. You may search for references by subject or author. Corresponds to the AGRICOLA electronic database.

  • Biological Abstracts (1926-)
    D. H. Hill Ref QH 301 .B37
    Older years located on 7th floor for the Book Stack Tower.

    The most comprehensive index and abstracts of research journal literature in the life sciences. BA indexes over 8,000 journals. You can search by subject, by genus-species name, by biosystematic classification, or by author.

  • Biological Abstracts/RRM (Reports, Reviews, Meetings) (1980-)
    D. H. Hill Ref QH 301 .B37t (Not currently received. D. H. Hill has 1980-1999.)

    Covers books, reviews, and meetings in the life sciences.

  • Biological & Agricultural Index (1964-) (continues Agricultural Index)
    D. H. Hill Ref S1 .A1811
  • Entomology Abstracts (1969-)
    D. H. Hill Ref QL461 .E7183 (Not currently received. D. H. Hill Ref. has 1980-1999.)
  • Forest Products Abstracts (1978-)
    Natural Resources Lib Ref SD430 .F6640
  • Forestry Abstracts (1939-)
    D. H. Hill Library SD1 .F66 (Not currently received at D. H. Hill. D.H. Hill has 1939-1989.)
    Natural Resources Lib Ref SD1 .F66 (1939-present)
  • Science Citation Index (1945-)
    D. H. Hill Ref. Q1 .S325 (Not Currently Received -- Latest: 1998:n 2 (03/1998))

Please note that the NCSU Libraries will not have some of the journals indexed by these indexes and abstracts. To see if we have the journal you need, use the NCSU Libraries catalog to search for the journal title (not the title of the article).


Librarian Contact Information

NCSU Libraries Copyright | Disclaimer | Accessibility | Text Only | Contact Us | Staff Only NC State University