|
Home: ENTOMOLOGY
Reference Sources
Literature Guides
Encyclopedias
Dictionaries
Handbooks
NC Agricultural Chemicals Manual
Statistics
Finding Journal Articles
Print Indexes and Abstracts
Finding Books
U.S. Government Info and U.S. Patents
Entomology Information on the Internet
Internet Gateways and General Guides
Government Agencies
Cooperative Extension
Organizations and Entomology Departments
Research Grants and Projects
Other Databases
Full Text Resources
|
Entomology: Finding Journal Articles
If a topic is too current or too specific to be covered by a handbook,
encyclopedia, or book, it may be discussed in journal articles, research
reports, or conference papers. Access to this literature has traditionally
been through indexing and abstracting services. There is no universal
index that covers all the published information in entomology, so at
times you may have to consult several sources.
Entomology Databases
To search one of these databases, go to the NCSU Libraries Database Finder. Then select a subject-- Example: Entomology.
- AGRICOLA
- Biological Abstracts
Provides comprehensive indexing of worldwide journal literature in the life sciences. Coverage: 1980- present. Updated quarterly.
- CAB Abstracts (via WebSPIRS. NCSU only) Coverage: 1972-present. Updated quarterly.
- Cambridge Scientific Abstracts: select Biological Sciences subfiles, including Entomology Abstracts.
Entomology Abstracts provides worldwide coverage of research reports of direct relevance to entomology. Coverage
includes insects, arachnids, and other "insect-like" species. Coverage: 1981- present. Updated: monthly.
- NC State University Authors Database (http://databases.lib.ncsu.edu/NCSUauthors/).
Search by author or department for published articles, books, or patents. Coverage: 1997-present.
- Science Citation Index Expanded (via Web of Science)
A multidisciplinary database that covers 3,330 major journals across 100 scientific disciplines. Indexes cited references of
the articles in the database so you can search by cited author, cited patent or cited paper. This allows you to trace a particular
research topic in the scientific literature. Coverage: 1945- present. Updated weekly.
- Zoological Record (via WebSPIRS. NCSU only)
Indexes the worldwide zoological literature, including journals, books, and conference proceedings. Coverage: 1978- present. Updated quarterly.
Zoological Record Thesaurus (http://www.biosis.org/free_resources/zr_taxhier.html)
Librarian Contact Information
|