|
Home: ENTOMOLOGY
Reference Sources
Literature Guides
Encyclopedias
Dictionaries
Handbooks
NC Agricultural Chemicals Manual
Statistics
Finding Journal Articles
Print Indexes and Abstracts
Finding Books
U.S. Government Info and U.S. Patents
Entomology Information on the Internet
Internet Gateways and General Guides
Government Agencies
Cooperative Extension
Organizations and Entomology Departments
Research Grants and Projects
Other Databases
Full Text Resources
|
Entomology: Information On The Internet
- Entomology Index of Internet Resources (http://www.ent.iastate.edu/List/). Iowa State University.
- Entomology
Resources on the Internet (http://www.library.wisc.edu/libraries/Steenbock/subjectguide/entomology.htm)
- Internet Resource Guide for Zoology (http://www.biosis.org/free_resources/resource_guide.html)
- Index to Organism Names (http://www.biosis.org.uk/ion/search.htm)
Gives "basic nomenclatural and hierarchy information, plus ZR volume occurrence counts (reflecting use in the literature)
for animal names; and links to other organizations' data for non-animal names. It can be used to identify the taxonomic group
to which a named organism belongs and to link to further information from ZR or other collaborating organizations."
- Nomenclatural Glossary for Zoology (http://www.biosis.org/free_resources/nomglos.html)
"Covers terminology commonly encountered within publications dealing with the systematics and nomenclature of animals."
- Insecta. BiologyBrowser (http://www.biologybrowser.org/bb/Organism/Invertebrata/Arthropoda/Insecta/index.shtml)
This resource links to Web sites of "educational, scientific and academic interest" in entomology. Subject coverage includes
natural biology, systematics and taxonomy, pest management and biocontrol, and more. Other information is included, such as lists of entomological societies and image archives.
- Insecta. Tree of Life (http://tolweb.org/tree?group=Insecta&contgroup=Hexapoda)
The Tree of Life Web Project is intended to be used by "those interested in locating information about a particular group of organisms,
by biologists seeking identification keys, figures, phylogenetic trees, and other systematic information for a group of organisms, and by educators teaching about organismal diversity." Originally
designed for biologists, the project is now also including information of interest to non-biologists, such as middle and high school students.
The site includes links to other entomology Web sites.
- AgriGator*: Worldwide Agricultural Site Index (http://AgriGator.ifas.ufl.edu/ag.htm)
- The World Wide Web Virtual Library--Agriculture (http://cipm.ncsu.edu/agVL/)
- National Integrated Pest Management Network (NIPMN) (http://www.reeusda.gov/nipmn/)
NIPMN is "the result of a federal-state extension partnership dedicated to making the latest and most accurate pest management information available on the World Wide
Web." The site is searchable or browsable; browsable categories
include Crop Production, Crop Production Practices, Insects and Mites, Other Pests, Plant Diseases, and others. One can also search
for Information by State/Region (http://www.PlantProtection.org/nipmn/state_region.html).
- NC Cooperative Extension (http://www.ces.ncsu.edu/).
Includes a link to the list of NCCES County Extension Centers (http://www.ces.ncsu.edu/counties/).
- State and National Partners (http://www.csrees.usda.gov/qlinks/partners/state_partners.html)
A "directory of land-grant universities which are state partners
of the Cooperative State Research, Education, and Extension Service."
Organizations
Entomology Departments
- NSF Funded Research (http://www.nsf.gov/home/grants/grants_awards.htm)
Information about research projects that the National Science Foundation (NSF) has funded since 1989.
- USDA's Current Research Information System (CRIS) Web site (http://cris.csrees.usda.gov/)
Is the USDA's "documentation and reporting system for ongoing and recently completed research projects in agriculture, food and nutrition, and forestry."
- Community of Science (COS) (http://www.cos.com/services/)
- COS Funding Opportunities. Contains detailed information for more than 20,500 available research grants worldwide. Updated daily.
- Funded Research (via Community of Science). Search to see what projects have been funded by the NSF, NIH, USDA and other organizations. (Note:
This database is for Community of Science members only. Accessible only via one's personal COS Workbench.)
- FAOSTAT. Agricultural Data (http://apps.fao.org/page/collections?subset=agriculture).
Food and Agricultural Organization of the United Nations.
The FAOSTAT collection of statistical databases provides access
to production, trade, and other international agricultural statistics.
The Agricultural Data section allows one to search Pesticides Trade
and Pesticides Consumption.
- AgZines: a Harvest of Free Agricultural Journals (http://usain.org/agzines.html)
Produced by the United States Agricultural Information Network (USAIN), a "compilation of agricultural journals that are available free
on the web. Formerly known as Tomato Juice, this list collects web sites" that are related to the field of agriculture and related sciences.
- Core Historical Literature of Agriculture (CHLA) (http://chla.library.cornell.edu/)
A "core electronic collection of agricultural texts published between the early nineteenth century and the middle to late twentieth century." Full-text.
- E-Answers (http://128.227.242.197/)
A searchable Web site that provides access to full text documents on a wide range of Extension or Outreach-oriented subjects. The work is by Extension Service and Agricultural Experiment Station
professionals at several U.S. land-grant universities.
To find other Web sites, click on Netscape's Search button and use one of the many available search engines. For searching tips
and comparisons of the features of various search engines, see:
For examples showing how to cite Internet resources, see Citing Electronic Resources from the Internet Public Library.
Librarian Contact Information
|