EndNote: Research Guide
Librarian: Mohan Ramaswamy
EndNote is a citation management software package that allows you to store, manage, and search for bibliographic references. EndNote can help you effectively organize and manage citations while conducting research, incorporate references into word processing documents, and create independent bibliographies in a variety of styles.
1. Set preferences to use EndNote with the NCSU Libraries:
- Go to Edit -- Preferences --Find Full Text
- Be sure the OpenURL box is checked. Change the OpenURL path to:
- Change the authentication URL to:
- Click OK to save. These preferences will help you successfully link to articles later.
2. Download filters and connection files for NCSU Libraries databases
To get the most useful set of filters and connection files, remove those included by default and add the databases available at the NCSU Libraries. You can always add or remove more later on.
- EndNote comes with a set of default Filters and Connections, most of which you will never use, or even have access to. Delete (or move to an alternate location) all of these from the Filters and Connections folders (by default, installed in the [Hard Drive]\Program Files\EndNote[your version] folder).
- Download and extract each of the following ZIP files to your Filters and Connections folders, respectively:
- Note: these zip files were created in April 2010 and contain all databases available through the NCSU Libraries for which an EndNote filter or connection file exists. We have databases that EndNote does not support, and EndNote has many others not included in these batches. Find other filters and connect files on the EndNote support site. If you have problems with any of these files, let us know.
EndNote Web information
EndNote Web is an online version of EndNote. To use EndNote Web, you can:
- Use your ISI Web of Knowledge Account (NCSU users may have one in Web of Science, BIOSIS, or other ISI databases)
- Buy a copy of EndNote--an EndNote Web license is included for free
- Purchase an EndNote Web account
EndNote Web only works with ISI databases
- EndNote Technical Support
- Important! Check for software updates
- EndNote Tip Sheets
- EndNote 1-2-3 easy! (E-book available through NCSU Libraries)
Getting references into EndNote
- Search databases available at the NCSU Libraries directly. Research databases like these index massive quantities of academic journals and other literature. (For recommended databases by subject, select a subject from the drop-down menu on the databases page.) They often have tools to help you refine your search and browse results easily.
- Pick the references of interest and look for an export function within the database.
- Some databases provide a Direct Export tool which will send references directly into EndNote in one step. In which case, no need to go to Step 3.
- Others may allow you to export saved references as a file. There may be options to "Save for EndNote" or something similar. Alternatively look for an option to save in "RIS" format (this is a generic formal EndNote can use).
- In EndNote, go to File:Import.
- Select the file you saved in Step 2
- For Import Option, choose the source of the file (i.e., the database you were searching in). Go to Other Filters if you don't immediately see it and browse the full list. (If you still don't see it, you may need to get the right filter from the EndNote website.)
- Choose how you want to handle duplicates. You will probably not change the translation option unless you are having importing issues
Contact a librarian if you need more specific help or have questions about this process.
Alternative method (sometimes preferred by experienced EndNote users):
- Search within EndNote. This is not recommended because of the lack of search tools and occasional technical problems, but it can be a quick method for experienced EndNote users. Click Tools:Online Search to begin.
- Choose a connection (i.e., a database to search). If you don't know a database to use, reconsider the recommended method above to search databases directly. Or Ask a Librarian for a recommendation.
- If you know what database you want to search but do not see it available, you may be missing the right connection file. Check the EndNote website.
- You may get prompted for a username and password. In most cases, this is unnecessary (click OK without entering information). You can edit the connection file to not prompt you: Edit:Connection Files:Open Connection Manager. Pick one and click Edit. Under Connection Settings, uncheck the UserID and Password boxes.
- Enter search terms and click Search. Decide which records you want (see tip on Preview Window below) and click OK.
Contact a librarian if you need more specific help or have questions with this process.
Tips and Tricks
- Creating bibliographies. Create bibliographies using the Cite-While-You-Write tool. This is available in Microsoft Word when you install EndNote. Look for an EndNote Add-in tab (or under the Tools menu of older versions of MS Word). CWYW lets you insert formatting citations into your paper as you type.
[More help (from UNC Libraries) | FAQs | Download other output styles]
- Search the library catalog. The NCSU Libraries' catalog is included in the connection files available to download from the installation help above. Once you've got the connection file in your EndNote Connections folder, go to Tools:Online Search and select North Carolina St U from the list. You can now search for items in our catalog and save them in your EndNote library.
Use Preview Mode. In EndNote X3, toggle your library view using the icons in the upper left. Clicking the integrated library & online search mode (globe with books) icon puts you into a "preview" mode such that you may see references matching an online search before adding them to your library or groups. This way, you can add only the most relevant citations by dragging them into your groups.
- Editing references. Go to References:Edit Reference to edit citations. This allows you to correct problems with imports (such as adding extra authors or adding an abstract or DOI). You can also add your own notes to the Research Notes field. Or, drag & drop an attachment (e.g., a PDF or image) into the Attachments field.