Getting Started with Education Research
Step 1: Know the 3 NCSU Libraries Research
Tools
Step 2: Searching for Research Articles
Step 3: Know How to Search Efficiently
Step 4: Locating the Articles You Find
Step 5: Know Where to Get Help if You Have Questions
Step 1: Know the 3 NCSU
Libraries Research Tools
A. Online Catalog
Provides call number and location information for all books and other materials
in the collection, as well as journal subscription information -- what journals
we subscribe to, what issues we have available, the call number and location
of the journal, etc. Does not contain information about specific individual
journal articles (for this, search the databases).
B. Search
the Collection
Use this to access databases in which you can search for research articles
on various topics. Hundreds of databases are available, arranged either alphabetically
or by topic area (i.e. Education). Most databases will cover the scholarly,
academic, peer-reviewed journal literature of a particular discipline. Others
focus on articles from magazines, newspapers, and trade publications.
C. Journals
Use this to check for online full-text availability of a specific journal
(not all journals have full-text articles available online). This tool is
best used to check for online availability of a specific article from a specific
source (check the dates of coverage). A related tool that assists with accessing
online full-text articles: Citation
Linking, which occurs within many of the databases. For more information
on locating articles, see below.
Top of Page
Step 2: Searching for Research Articles
A. Know your Databases
In the discipline of Education, start by searching the ERIC database
(available via the Databases). For information
on searching techniques, see below.
B. Regarding ERIC
-- The ERIC database has two parts: ERIC Journal articles, which
are peer-reviewed articles that have appeared in scholarly journals and
have an
EJ identifying number; and ERIC Documents, which are items
such as conference proceedings, reports, curriculum guides, etc. and have
an ED
identifying number. ERIC Documents are typically self-submitted by authors
for inclusion in the database, and are available online (from 1993-present
) through the ERIC database or in microfiche
format (arranged by ED number)
through TripSaver.
ERIC Journal articles (EJ) are located as you would other journal articles. For
more information see ERIC
Tips.
C. Other Databases and Cross-Disciplinary Resources
Educational topics also cross over into other disciplines, so depending on
the specific nature of your research, you may also want to consider searching
some other databases.
-- PsycInfo
covers topics such as educational psychology and organizational psychology.
-- Business Source Premier covers training
and development.
-- Web of
Science (of which Social Sciences Citation Index is a component) is a
useful resource that can track bibliographies and citation patterns in the
social sciences.
Top of Page
Step 3: Know How to Search Efficiently
A. Use Advanced Search Options
Take advantage of the Advanced Search option available in the databases.
This allows you to:
-- Combine search terms in multiple search boxes using connecting words such
as 'and' [i.e. higher education and student development]. This is a default
option in most advanced searches.
-- Limit by date of publication. Try limiting searches to current research
from the past 5-10 years.
-- Limit by material type. Try limiting to peer-reviewed or scholarly articles.
In ERIC, try limiting your search to Journal articles [ERIC Journals (EJ)]
and eliminating Documents [ERIC Documents (ED)].
B. Choosing Search Terms
-- Be flexible with your selection of search terms (keywords). It is often
helpful to identify various synonyms related to your topic, so that if one
group of search terms does not lead to a useful set of results, you can try
some alternative terms instead. For example, when searching on the topic 'administration,'
you could also try terms such as 'leadership,' 'management,' or a particular
position title such as 'college president.'
-- It can also be helpful in education research to include a search term
that limits your search to a particular educational level and/or context (i.e.
middle school, higher education, community colleges, etc.)
-- Look for alternative terms when searching. Start with one set of terms,
browse the results of that search, and use other terms that appear in abstracts
to revise your search. Also note that all articles are assigned standardized
descriptors or subject headings that reflect the topic of the article. Use
these to generate other ideas for search terms.
C. For More Information
Top of Page
Step 4: Locating the Articles You Find
Not all items are available online. The starting point for locating any article
is the complete citation of the article (author, source, year, etc.). The
older an article is, the less likely it will be available electronically.
A. Electronic Format
-- In some cases (but not all!) there will be a direct link to the full text
of the article right in the database. This is the most convenient option when
it is available.
-- Otherwise, when looking through results in a database there will be a
"Find Text @ NCSU" button that will enable you to check to
see if an article is available online through another source. This is called
Citation Linking,
and although it does not guarantee that an article will be available electronically,
it is a convenient way to check. There will be a direct link to the article
when it is available. If not, there will be a link to the online
catalog so you can check to see if we have the journal available in paper
format.
-- Another option is to search for the journal in the Journals page. If the journal is available electronically, you should be able
to navigate to the particular issue you need.
-- Note that the online catalog
also contains information about electonic access to journals. The same information
that is available through Citation Linking and the Journals page is also
available in the catalog when you do a Journal Title search.
B. Paper Format
-- If a journal is not available electronically, it may be available in paper
format. This information is only available in the online
catalog.
-- Do a Journal Title search on the name of the journal, and if we
carry it, there will be a record that contains information about what volumes/issues
are available and where it is located in the library. Look at the Holdings
chart at the bottom of the record for information about available volumes/issues
- click on the Display All Volumes link for a complete listing, to
make sure we have the volume/issue/year you need.
-- Be sure to write down the call number of the journal listed in the record.
Many of the Education journals have a call number that starts with L and are
located on the 5th floor of D. H. Hill Library. Locations
are based on the beginning letter of the call number, and older issues of
journals are located in the Bookstacks.
Current issues of journals (those published within approximately the last
year) are located in Current
Periodicals, on the 1st floor of the library in the West (Erdahl-Cloyd)
Wing.
Top of Page
Step 5: Know Where to Get Help if You Have Questions
A. Ask a Librarian
Contact the Reference Desk via phone, e-mail, or online chat with any research
questions you may have.
B. Subject Specialist
Reference Librarian
If you would like to contact someone directly, Amy VanScoy, Assistant Head,
Research & Information Services, would be happy to talk with you about your
research. Email Amy at amy_vanscoy@ncsu.edu or call 515-5826.
C. Researching
Topics in Education: A Tutorial
Another online resource that has useful information about conducting research
in Education.
Librarian Contact Information
|