Education Research Guide
See also
Library Resources
NCSU Libraries Online Catalog -- http://catalog.lib.ncsu.edu/
The NCSU Libraries Catalog is searchable by author, title, subject
and keyword. Use the catalog to locate books and other materials,
or to locate journal subscriptions (if you have a citation to an article,
do a journal title search to identify the location and call number
for the journal in which the article appears). Use the keyword searching
option to search multiple terms using connecting words such as AND,
OR, or NOT.
NCSU Libraries Journals -- http://www.lib.ncsu.edu/journals/
Use the Journals page to search for electronic publications.
Research Guides:
Indexes (Electronic Resources)
Search the Collection [Databases]
Off-campus access information
Education Databases
ERIC
The primary database for the Education discipline, available via EbscoHost
and CSA
(covers 1966-present). ERIC (Educational
Resources Information Center) is sponsored by the US
Department of Education. The ERIC database consists of two
files: the Resources in Education (RIE) file of document (ED) citations
and the Current Index to Journals in Education (CIJE) file of journal
article (EJ) citations from over 750 professional journals.
ERIC
Documents [which have accession numbers beginning with "ED" (i.e.
ED345098)] from 1993-present (except for ~20%
that are restricted by contributors to microfiche release) are
available full-text online in the ERIC database. Older
ERIC Documents on microfiche can be requested through TripSaver. The
ERIC
Thesaurus is a useful tool when searching the ERIC database.
Additional searching tips and an animated tutorial are available online.
Other Electronic Resources of Interest
Psychology
Databases [PsycInfo, Web of Science (citation database)]
General
Databases [Academic Search Premier, LexisNexis Academic]
Print Reference Materials (Selected
Encyclopedia of Education -- D. H. Hill Ref: LB15. E47 2003
Encyclopedia of Educational Research -- D. H. Hill Ref: LB15.E48 1992
Encyclopedia of Higher Education -- D. H. Hill Ref: LB15.I57
International Encyclopedia of Education -- D. H. Hill Ref: LB15.I569 1994
International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences -- D. H. Hill Ref: H41.I58 2001
World Education Encyclopedia -- D. H. Hill Ref: LB15.W87 2002
Online Resources
Web Sites
ERIC: Educational Resources Information Center
Electronic Journals in the Field of Education
National Center for Education Statistics
Professional Societies and Organizations
American Council on Education
American Educational Research Association
National Education Association
Librarian Contact Information
|