Skip to Quick Links BarSkip to Page Content
NCSU Libraries
Search the Collection
Browse Subjects
Services
Library Information
Community
News & Events
Browse Subjects
Get Answers Now

Home: EDUCATIONAL HISTORY
Database Searches
E-Journals
Web Sites

Education Subject Guide

Educational History Resources Reseach Guide

Librarian: Amy VanScoy

Locating Books using Library of Congress Subject Headings

The following subject headings can be used to conduct a L.C. Subject search in the NCSU Libraries online catalog.

  • History Education United States
  • Education Higher United States History
  • African American Universities and Colleges
  • Education Medieval
  • Adult Education United States History

Locating Articles using Databases

Search the Collection
Databases

Education Databases (try ERIC)
History Databases (try America: History and Life and JSTOR)
General Databases (try Academic Search Premier)

ERIC Thesaurus Terms

Try searching on these Thesaurus terms in the ERIC database to locate relevant articles:

  • Educational History
  • Science Education History
  • Foundations of Education
  • Educational Trends
  • Black Colleges

Online E-Journals

Locate full-text online journal holdings via the Journal List. Additional full-text electronic resources are available through the NCSU Libraries Databases and online catalog.
Some selected journals of interest:

History of Education Quarterly
Paper format availability: V. 1 (1961) - current; Call number L11 .H6.

History of Education (Tavistock) -- Academic Search Premier, from 9/01/03 - one year ago.

Web Sites

Reseach Guide: Education -- http://www.lib.ncsu.edu/guides/education/
ERIC (via Ebsco) Searching Tips -- http://www.lib.ncsu.edu/guides/eric/erictips.html
Educational Resources Information Center -- http://www.eric.ed.gov/

History of Education Society -- http://www.ed.uiuc.edu/hes/INDEX.htm
History of American Education Web Project -- http://www.nd.edu/~rbarger/www7/
Bibliography of the History of American Education -- http://www.zzbw.uni-hannover.de/Herbststart.htm


Librarian Contact Information

NCSU Libraries Copyright | Disclaimer | Accessibility | Text Only | Contact Us | Staff Only NC State University