ARTstor: Instructor-level Access
Adapted by Barbara Brenny from "Getting Started With ARTstor," by Jenni Rodda, New York University
and from "ARTstor Training Part III: Instructor Features"
Registering for Instructor Privileges
Users with Instructor Privileges have access to even more features and tools
than a Registered User. Click the "Tools" button in the toolbar at the top
of the page. Click the menu item titled "Obtain Instructor Privileges."
In the pop-up box, type in the Instructor Privileges authorization code
and password, which you can request from the local ARTstor contact listed in the window (Tim Mori at tim_mori@ncsu.edu).
Or, contact Karen DeWitt or Barbara Brenny; they can also provide you
with the authorization code and password.
When finished, click "Submit." You will see a confirmation of your registration.
Creating Shared Folders
With Instructor Privileges, you may now create Shared Folders into which you can
save Image Groups. You can control the access that other users will have to these
Shared Folders and Image Groups.
READ Access: Users are permitted to view, zoom, export
and print the contents of the folder, but are not permitted to change anything.
WRITE Access: Users are permitted to create, delete, or modify the contents of the folder.
Under "Tools", select "Create Shared Folder." Enter a name for the
folder and click "Continue." You may either check the box to make
this folder public, allowing it to be viewable by anyone at your
institution, or create access codes and passwords for READ and
WRITE Access, which you may then distribute as you wish. If you
choose to make the folder public, click "Finish." If you choose
to limit access, click "Continue." You may choose to create Work
Folders where your students can save Image Groups for your review
and collaboration. To create your folder, click "Finished."
Managing Shared Folders
After creating your Shared Folders, you may make changes to them. ARTstor
tools allow you to delete folders or Image Groups, change folder titles
or access codes, and create student folders.
Under "Tools", choose "Folder Administration." Under the "Folders/Groups" tab,
delete a folder or an Image Group by selecting a name and then clicking "Delete"
at the bottom of the column. Click on the "Access Controls" tab. Choose a folder
from the list on the left side, then edit its title or accessibility options. When
finished, click "Submit." Click on the "Student Administration" tab. To remove
students from the access list for that folder, click the name, then choose "Delete."
Double-click on a student’s name to add notes to a student’s profile and view their
e-mail address.
Instructors Commentary
As an instructor, you may type in additional information about any image saved
in your Image Groups. If you choose to make your comments public,
they can then be viewed by other users at your institution.
Click on data caption beneath any image. Go to "Instructor’s Commentary" and
add remarks. To allow your notes to be viewed by other users, uncheck
the box in the lower right corner titled "Hide Commentary." Click "Save."
Uploading Personal Images
Local images can be uploaded from two locations: either from
the "My Personal Collection" page or from
the Tools menu. Uploaded images need to be in either a
JPG, JPG2000, GIF, Tiff, BMP, or PCD format. Each instructor-level user has 500 MB of storage
space given to their account to hold their personal images.Click on the
"My Personal Collection" collection title at the bottom of the
main access page. In the Collection Page that opens, click on the
"Personal Collection Image Upload" link in the lower left corner.
This option is also available from the "Tools" toolbar menu.
Click the "Browse" button next to File 1, or go to "Personal Collection
Image Upload" in lower left corner. Find the image file you’d like
to upload from your computer directory and click "Open."
Click the "Upload" button at the bottom of the window.
You may continue to upload additional images or click "Cancel" to close
the window or "X" out of the window.
Editing Data on Personal Collections
Local image data can be edited to include any additional data required for
cataloguing the image. The basic data fields can be used as well as
a full list of possible fields based on VRA Core 3.0.
While on the "My Personal Collection" page, at the lower-left corner,
click "Personal Collection Administration". This option is also
available from the "Tools" toolbar menu. Double-click the name
of an image file displayed on the right side of the page to edit the title.
Select an image by clicking on the title and click the "Edit Data"
button at the bottom of the window to edit basic data fields. Click the
"All Fields" button to display all available data fields.
Double-click into a field to begin typing text. When finished, click the "Save" button.
Image Access Rights
Personal Collection images can be made either Limited or Fully Accessible.
Limited Access: The image will be viewable, searchable, save-able, and printable
only by the Instructor-owner. For other users to view this image, the image must be
included in an Image Group to which those other users have been granted access.
Institutional Access: The image will be viewable, searchable, save-able, and printable
by all users at the institution.
Within the "Edit Data" window, two buttons are displayed at the lower-right
corner, "Limited Access" and "Institutional Access." Initially,
all Personal Collection images are set by default to "Limited Access."
To change the access from "Limited Access" to "Institutional Access"
or vice-versa, select the desired file and then click the appropriate button. When
finished, click the "Save" button.
Categorizing Personal Images
Images in the Personal Collection can be organized into categories created by the Instructor.
Within the "Personal Collections Administration" window, click the "New Category"
button at the lower-left. A new category titled "New Category"
will be added beneath the "My Personal Collection" heading.
To add subcategories, select the category it will fall under, then
click the "New Category" button. To rename the category,
double-click on the title of "New Category" and type the new name.
Organizing Personal Collections
After uploading personal images, they can be moved into categories in order
to make them easier to manage.
Within the "Personal Collections Administration" window,
your categories are listed at the left side below the heading
"My Personal Collection." Click on "My Personal Collection"
to display your current personal images on the right side of the window.
To copy an image from your Personal Collection into any of your categories,
click to select an image title, and drag it over the name of the category into
which it should be placed. When the image has been copied, click "OK"
on the pop-up box stating "The selected images were copied
to the target category successfully." You can expand to view
any sub-categories (if available) by clicking on the plus sign to
the left of the category name and copy images into those as well.
Deleting Personal Images
Images deleted from the Personal Collection are moved into the Recycle Bin
in case you need to get them back. Images deleted from a Category are deleted
just from the category but remain in the Personal Collection.
To completely
delete an image, delete it from the Recycle Bin.Select an image from a
category by clicking on it. At the bottom of the right column, click
the "Delete" button. Click to confirm the deletion of the image.
This image has been deleted from the category only. Click into the
My Personal Collection and the image is still available here.
Select an image from the "My Personal Collection" and
click the "Delete" button. Click to confirm the deletion
of the image. This image has been deleted from the library of My Personal Collection
and any category it was associated with. Click into the Recycle Bin,
and the image now is only available here. To empty the recycle bin and permanently
delete all the images stored within, click on the category name "Recycle Bin,"
then right-click with your mouse and choose the item "Empty Recycle Bin."
Click to confirm the deletion of all the images.
Using Personal Collection Images
Images saved to the Personal Collection can be used throughout ARTstor in the same way
that the ARTstor images are used.
On the main access page at the lower-right corner is a new collection
titled "My Personal Collection." Click the title of the collection
to view the Collection Page. Click to open any of the categories which may have
been created. The personal images will be displayed on a thumbnail or list page.
Single-click on any of the images to select them. Click the Image Groups
button in the toolbar and choose "Save" selected images to new group"
or choose to "Append selected images to existing group." Choose a folder
from the Folder list, then either type in a new name below or from the drop-down
menu choose an existing Image Group for these images. Click the "Save" button.
For Further Information and Assistance
http://www.artstor.org/info/using_artstor/enduser.jsp - Resources for End Users
http://www.artstor.org/info/using_artstor/training_presentations.jsp - Training Presentations
http://www.artstor.org/info/using_artstor/faculty.jsp - Resources for Faculty
https://artstor.webex.com - an online interactive classroom tool, a person or group at a
participating institution can be trained remotely by staff in ARTstor's offices.
All that is required at the trainee site is an internet connection and a
telephone. WebEx sessions are available at four levels.
Librarian Contact Information
|