ARTstor: Instructor-level Access: Design Research Guide

Librarian: Karen DeWitt

Adapted by Barbara Brenny from "Getting Started With ARTstor," by Jenni Rodda, New York University and from "ARTstor Training Part III: Instructor Features"

Registering for Instructor Privileges
Creating Shared Folders
Managing Shared Folders
Instructor Notes
Obtaining URL for a Folder or Image Group
Uploading Personal Images
Editing Data on Personal Collections
Image Access Rights
Categorizing Personal Images
Organizing Personal Collections
Deleting Personal Images/Categories
Using Personal Collection Images

1) Registering for Instructor Privileges

Users with Instructor Privileges have access to even more features and tools than a Registered User. After logging in, click on the "Edit my profile" link in the upper right corner of the page. Click the "Instructor Privileges" tab. Type in the Instructor Privileges authorization code and password, which you can request from the local ARTstor contact listed in the window (Barbara Brenny at barbara_brenny@ncsu.edu). Or, contact Karen DeWitt or Tim Mori; they can also provide you with the authorization code and password. When finished, click "Submit." You will see a confirmation of your registration.

2) Creating Shared Folders

With Instructor Privileges, you may now create Shared Folders into which you can save Image Groups. You can control the access that other users will have to these Shared Folders and Image Groups.

READ Access: Users are permitted to view, zoom, export and print the contents of the folder, but are not permitted to change anything.

WRITE Access: Users are permitted to create, delete, or modify the contents of the folder.

Under "Share", select "Create Folder." Enter a name for the folder and click "Next." First you need to decide if you want to allow READ ONLY access to anyone at your institution or if you want to protect it with a password that you may then distribute as you wish. If you choose to make the folder public, click "Finish." If you choose to limit access, create a password and click "Next." Now you need to decide if you want to allow anyone WRITE access to your folder. You may choose "Only me," or if you choose "Selected user(s) with password," you will be prompted to create another password and click "Next." You may choose to enable Work Folders where your students can save Image Groups for your review and collaboration. If you choose to enable this feature, you will be asked to enter an expiration date and click "Next." To create your folder, click "Finished."

3) Managing Shared Folders

After creating your Shared Folders, you may make changes to them. ARTstor tools allow you to delete folders or Image Groups, change folder titles or access codes, and manage student folders. Under "Share", choose "Manage Folders." Under the "My Folders" tab, delete a folder or an Image Group by selecting a name and then clicking "Delete" at the bottom of the column. Click on the "Access Controls" tab. To change the name of a folder, access rights, passwords or student work folder configurations, simply highlight the folder on the left and make your desired changes on the right. To remove individual students from the access list for that folder, go the the "My Students" tab, click the name, then choose "Delete." Double-click on a student�s name to add notes to a student�s profile and view their e-mail address.

4) Instructor Notes

As an instructor, you may type in additional information about any image saved in your Image Groups. If you choose to make your comments public, they can then be viewed by other users at your institution. Click on data caption beneath any image. Go to "Instructor Notes" and add remarks. You have the option of making your notes public, restricted to those who have the password to your folder, or hidden alltogether. After selecting one of the three options, click "Save."

5) Obtaining URL for a Folder or Image Group

ARTstor can provide you with a persistant URL (unchanging web address) to any of your folders or image groups. These can be used in course syllabi or entered into Reserves Direct for simple and easy access. Go to "Share" at the top of the page and click on "Generate image group URL." You can copy and paste the web address to your desired location.

6) Uploading Personal Images

You have the option of uploading images/audio files only or images/audio files and their associated descriptive data. Uploaded images need to be in either a JPG, JPG2000, GIF, Tiff, BMP, PNG or any MP3 audio file format. Each instructor-level user has 1000 MB of storage space given to their account to hold their personal images. To upload personal images from your computer, go to "Upload" at the top of the page and select "Upload to personal collection." Use "Browse" to locate the files on your computer and choose a destination category or folder. Click on "Upload" after you have made your selections.

7) Editing Data on Personal Collections

Local image data can be edited to include any additional data required for cataloguing the image. The basic data fields can be used as well as a full list of possible fields based on VRA Core 3.0. Go to "Upload" and "Manage personal collection" Double-click the name of an image file displayed on the right side of the page to edit the title. Select an image by clicking on the title and click the "Edit Data" button at the bottom of the window to edit basic data fields. Click the "Show All" button to display all available data fields. Double-click into a field to begin typing text. When finished, click the "Save" button.

8) Image Access Rights

Personal Collection images can be made either Limited or Fully Accessible.

Limited Access: The image will be viewable, searchable, save-able, and printable only by the Instructor-owner. For other users to view this image, the image must be included in an Image Group to which those other users have been granted access.

Institutional Access: The image will be viewable, searchable, save-able, and printable by all users at the institution.

Within the "Manage personal collection" window, two icons are displayed at the lower-left corner, "Private file for personal use only" and "Public file that you have made available to those at your institution." Initially, all Personal Collection images are set by default to limited access. To change the access from limited access to institutional access or vice-versa, right click on the file in the right panel and select either "Set file to limited access" or "Set file to institutional access."

9) Categorizing Personal Images

Images in the Personal Collection can be organized into categories created by the Instructor. Within the "Manage personal collection" window, click the "New Category" button at the lower-left. A new category titled "New Category" will be added beneath the "My Personal Collection" heading. To add subcategories, select the category it will fall under, then click the "New Category" button. To rename the category, double-click on the title of "New Category" and type the new name.

10) Organizing Personal Collections

After uploading personal images, they can be moved into categories in order to make them easier to manage. Within the "Manage personal collection" window, your categories are listed at the left side below the heading "My Personal Collection." Click on "My Personal Collection" to display your current personal images on the right side of the window. To copy an image from your Personal Collection into any of your categories, click to select an image title, and drag it over the name of the category into which it should be placed. You can expand to view any sub-categories (if available) by clicking on the plus sign to the left of the category name and copy images into those as well.

11) Deleting Personal Images/Categories

Images deleted from the Personal Collection are moved into the Recycle Bin in case you need to get them back. Images deleted from a Category are deleted just from the category but remain in the Personal Collection. Categories cannot be recovered once they have been deleted.

To completely delete an image, select an it from a category by clicking on it. At the bottom of the right column, click the "Remove" button. This image has been deleted from the category only. To send the image to the Recycle Bin, right click on the image and select "Move to Recycle Bin." If you would like to move a deleted image from the Recycle Bin to "Images in My Personal Collection, right click on the file and choose "Restore file to personal collection." To deleted an individual image permanently, right click on the file in the Recycle Bin and select "Delete file from recycle bin." To empty the recycle bin and permanently delete all the images stored within, right click on the recycle bin and select "Delete all files in recycle bin."

12) Using Personal Collection Images

Images saved to the Personal Collection can be used throughout ARTstor in the same way that the ARTstor images are used. They can easily be integrated with ARTstor images in the folders you have created. On the main access page on the right is a heading titled "My Personal Collection." Click on several of the options below to upload, browse or manage your personal images and see the categories you have created. Clicking on "Browse personal collection" will bring you to your categories. Double clicking on any of the categories will open up a thumbnail or list page. To add these to one of your folders containing ARTstor images, single-click to select them. Go to "Organize" at the top of the page and "Save selected images to," just as you would when adding ARTstor images to a folder or image group.

For Further Information and Assistance

http://www.artstor.org/using-artstor/u-html/getting-started.shtml - Getting Started
http://www.artstor.org/using-artstor/u-html/support-and-training.shtml - Training Presentations