Finding Journal Articles in Design
Why you would want a Journal Article
There are a number of reasons why you might want to look for an article in
a journal or magazine. For one thing, your professor might tell you to. For
another, you might have a topic that is very narrow in scope, and you would
then stand a much better chance of finding an article in a journal or magazine
than finding an entire book. Journal articles are good places to get information
about specific designers, individual buildings or architects, or the most current trends in
design or landscape. Basically if you are looking for any current trends,
hot new designers or architects, or the most recent information on a subject,
you will be better off looking for a journal article.
Finding a Journal Article
There are several indexes to journal articles that are useful for design,
and you use them all pretty much the same way:
- First, locate the index
- Next, look up your topic in the index
- Write down, print out, or email to yourself any citations (information about an article)
that look good to you
- Then, find out if NC State has the journal you want
- Finally, go find the article
The three main indexes we have for design are the Art Index, the Avery
Index to Architectural Periodicals and the Design and Applied Arts Index.
Art Index
The Art Index indexes approximately 400 or so journals in the areas of Advertising Art,
Antiques, Archaeology, Architecture and Architectural History, Art History,
Computers in Art, Crafts, Decorative Arts, Fashion Design, Folk Art, Graphic Arts,
Industrial Design, Interior Design, Landscape Architecture, Motion Pictures, Museology,
Non-Western Art, Painting, Photography, Pottery, Sculpture, Television, Textiles,
and Video. The online version covers back to 1929.
Avery Index
The Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals
indexes architecture, archaeology, city planning, interior design, and historic preservation in over 2000 journals published worldwide,
with coverage on some journals back to the 1860s. The paper version
of the index is currently in storage.
The Design and Applied Arts Index
The Design and Applied Arts Index (DAAI) covers all areas of design and craft,
including industrial design, vehicle design, architecture, interior design,
environmental design, furniture design, textile design, graphic design, typography,
multimedia design, design and craft history, design and craft theory, design
and craft education and design management.
Which Index to Use?
The NCSU Libraries have put together lists of useful databases/indexes for most subject area. They cover the main databses
for the area, plus provide lists of related databases, and other, broader databases that might be useful.
Click on the links below to see the recommended indexes for your subject:
Other Resources
There are many, many more indexes available, and depending on what you are researching,
you may find some of them useful. You can either use the browse subjects option to look
at the most important resources for any given subject, or go to the search the collection page
to search by resources by a particular type.
Find the journal in the library
Once you've found some articles you want to look at, you need to search our
online catalog to see if NC State has
the journals that the articles are in. The easiest thing is to do a simple
title search for the title of the journal (not the title of the article).
If you have a journal with a very generic name such as "Architecture" or "Landscape
Architecture" you may want to do a journal title search. This
will limit your search to only journals and magazine, and hopefully make it
easier to find what you are looking for. Be sure to ask the library staff
for help if you have any problems.
If you've found that NCSU has the journal, find the journal itself on
the shelf. Be sure to check where your journal is located. All journals
in the Design Library are organized alphabetically by title, not by call number.
Current journal issues are in the low shelves in the center of the library.
Older, bound issues are arranged against the outside walls of the library.
Journals in the main library, DH Hill, are in the current periodicals section
in the west wing, and bound volumes are in the stacks.
Online Journal Articles
None of the databases that are specifically for design have the full-text of the
articles in them. However, we may have the individual journal titles in full-text. If you
see a button that says "Find Text@NCSU" click on that and it will search to
see if we subscribe to that journal. If we do have it, you can simply open the full-text version
and read it. If we don't, you should get a window that tells you so, and gives you a link
to the catalog (to check to see if we have it in print, and a link to Tripsaver, to request them
to send you copy.
Journal Articles through InterLibrary Loan
If NCSU does not have the journal you need, you can request a copy of
the article be sent to you through Tripsaver. Use the links below to get to the Tripsaver form, or
look at the FAQ for more information.
Tripsaver Home
Tripsaver FAQ
Librarian Contact Information
|