Databases Design Grad Students Should Know
Depending on your particular area of research, you will probably need to broaden
your searching beyond the usual databases for Design. For example, if you are
researching design and education, you will want to search education databases
as well; if you are researching design and environment, you should search in
environmental databases. Especially for research for your thesis or dissertation,
you need to be as thorough as possible.
Be sure you look through the Subject Browse Pages
to see what other databases might be available in your area of research.
The basic process for using databases or indexes is generally the same for all databases or indexes:
- First, locate the index
- Next, look up your topic in the index
- Write down, print out, or email to yourself any citations (information about an article)
that look good to you
- Then, find out if NC State has the journal you want
- Finally, go find the article
If you don't understand this process or have questions about how to use databases
to find articles, see the page on Finding Journal Articles in Design.
Dissertation Abstracts provides information on dissertations produced at over 1000
participating universities and institutions. The database contains the
following publications:
Comprehensive Dissertation Index
Dissertation Abstracts International
Masters Abstracts International
American Doctoral Dissertations
As a researcher, this database will help you find what is currently being done in your field, and by gettting a copy
of someone else's dissertation, you will be able to see not only what they researched, but also
the bibliography of relevant research that they prepared. This can be an invaluable resource for you
in your own work.
If you can't find anything on your topic at NCSU, Duke, UNC, or NCCU, you may
want to look in WorldCat. WorldCat is a combined online catalog for about 28,000
libraries in the US, and has over 40 million records. You can look in WorldCat
and find books about your topic, and then go to the ILL page on NCSU Libraries'
website, and request those books be sent to you, free of charge.
Getting Stuff from Other Places
Once you've found descriptions of what you need in the various databases
you've searched, you'll need to get it. The best way is to send in a request through the Libraries'
Tripsaver service.
Tripsaver Home
Tripsaver FAQ
You can also go to the other members of TRLN (the Triangle Research Libraries Network):
Duke University, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, and North Carolina Central University, and
borrow books directly from them. See this website for
details: http://www.trln.org/policy/policiesmain.htm.
Duke and UNC both have excellent art libraries. Go to their websites to get
directions or hours: The Lilly Library at Duke collects fine arts,
philosophy, film, video, and performing arts.
The Sloane Art Library at UNC collects art from prehistoric times to the
present.
You can also use the Art Reference Library at the North Carolina Museum of Art.
The Library's emphasis is on Western European and American art, in support of the
Museum's primary collections. It also maintains an extensive Artists File on artists
represented in the collection. The library is open to the public 10am to 4pm Wednesday
through Friday. None of their materials circulate; you must use their books within the
library. It's also advisable to call in advance: 919.839-6262, ext. 2136 or 2137.
Librarian Contact Information
|