Desegregation of NC State University: Research Guide

Librarian: Cynthia Levine

Overviews

Timeline of African Americans at NC State

Inclusion and Involvement of African Americans at North Carolina State University 1953-1993
Nash Winstead
LD3928 .W5 2000 (Special Collections)

North Carolina State University, A Narrative History
Alice E. Reagan
LD3928 .R42 1987(Special Collection, D. H. Hill Jr. Reference)

All Alone Together [article about first for NC State African American undergraduates]
Cynthia Greenlee-Donnell, in N.C. State (NCSU Alumni Association Magazine), v. 78, 10/11/2006
LH1.N6 A4 V.78 (D. H. Hill Jr. Library, 9th floor)

Consent decree : North Carolina v. Department of Education
Negotiated settlement of the dispute between the Federal Office of Civil Rights and the UNC System, providing the framework by which desgregation activity would occur in the UNC System
LC212.72 .N8 C6 (D. H. Hill Jr. Library, 6th floor)

Talking About Raleigh: A Bicentennial Oral History
James W. Clark
F264 .R1 T34 1993 (Special Collections)

The D. H. Hill Jr. Library: An Informal History, 1887-1987
Isaac T. Littleton
Includes information and reflections on first African Americans on the library staff
Z733 .N846 L57 1993 (9th Floor DH Hill Bookstacks, Special Collections)

Desegregation at North Carolina State University - The Early Years
Devan Donaldson

Special Collections Research Center

University Archives preserves records reflecting the history of North Carolina State University. Within these archives are materials pertaining to the experiences of African Americans at NC State. Also included in these collections are official papers of university officials, and students publications.

Content, Context, and Capacity [NC State digitized materials]
Content, Context, and Capacity, with the thematic focus of the Long Civil Rights Movement in North Carolina, was a collaborative large-scale manuscripts digitization project undertaken by the Triangle Research Libraries Network (TRLN) university libraries at Duke University, North Carolina Central University, North Carolina State University, and the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. Together, the partners digitized approximately 400,000 digital objects.

NC State African American Collections
https://www.lib.ncsu.edu/specialcollections/find/africanamericans.html
These collections document various aspects of the African American experience at NC State, including student life, staff employment, and faculty hiring and retention. The finding aids provide more information about the collection content.

North Carolina State University History Collections
History of N.C. State University - sources from Special Collections

Citation of Manuscripts and Archives
Citing sources

Chancellor’s Records

Preliminary Inventory of the North Carolina State University Office of the Chancellor General Records, 1891-2005.

Collection Number UA 002.001

Carey Hoyt Bostian (1953-1959)

John Tyler Caldwell (1959-1975)

Joab Langston Thomas (1976-1981)

Nash Nicks Winstead (Interim) (1981-1982)

Bruce Robert Poulton (1982-1989)

Provost's Records

North Carolina State University, Office of the Provost and Vice Chancellor Equal Opportunity and Equity records, 1970-2008 

The Provost's Office: An Informal History - see Ch. 4 (Affirmative Action: Issues Concerning Race (online)
Text by Nash Nicks Winstead, former Provost and Interim Chancellor
Special Collections and D. H. Hill Jr. Stacks LD3928 .W52 1999

Faculty/Staff

Cyrus King
Cyrus Baldwin King worked in the North Carolina State University Library for years, eventually becoming the Head of the Acquisition Department. He was and remains very politically active in the Democratic party, writing tirelessly in support of the causes that he has adopted, most notably racial justice, voting rights, and other civil rights causes.

Slater Newman
Contains professional papers including research notes, correspondence, and conference proceedings, relating to Dr Newman's work in experimental psychology and human rights organizations.

Oral History

Irwin Holmes One of the first four African American undergraduates (1956) and the first to graduate (1960)

Eric Moore First African American Student Senate President, (1969)

N.C. State University Libraries' Integration Oral Histories Includes interviews with Margaret Hunt, Doretha Blalock, Cyrus King, and I.T. Littleton

Elwood and Diane Hill Becton Wolf Tales interview with students in the late 1960s and 70s.  They talk about the African American student experience during that time period, as well and the beginnings of what became the African American Cultural Center.

Student Organizations

Collection Number UA 016.001 contains records of fraternities and sororities.

Society of Afro-American Culture Records 1968-1984 First African American Student Group on campus

Mu Omicron Chapter of Delta Sigma Theta Records 1975-1979, 2020 First African American sorority on campus

Alpha Phi Alpha First African American Fraternity on campus (box 78, folder 6)

D.A.R.E. Papers (Direct Action for Racial Equality)

  • Included in Collection Number UA 021 which contains records of student organizations. Box 5, Folder 1 contains papers from D.A.R.E. [Are the D.A.R.E. Extra and D.A.R.E. News inluded here?]

Yearbook

Agromeck (Yearbook of North Carolina State University)
LD3928 .N75 (Special Collections)

NC State Special Collections Photographs

University Archives Photographs (UA 023)

  • Tip for browsing: In left menu, select Subject, then click on More at bottom of section; Then click on A-Z sort (lower right); Look for subjects starting with African American

Green 'N' Growing: The History of 4-H and Home Demonstration in North Carolina, 1850-1950 (project overview)

  • Search or Browse Green 'N' Growing
  • Tip for browsing: In left menu, select Subject, then click on More at bottom of section; Then click on A-Z sort (lower right); Look for subjects starting with African American

Raleigh Newspapers

The Technician (NC State student newspaper)
LH1 .N6 T4 Special Collections - University Archives (1st floor, East Wing)

News and Observer (City newspaper, 1884 - 2010)
D. H. Hill Jr. Microforms AN2 .N494

The Raleigh Times (City newspaper, 1940-1989)
D. H. Hill Jr. Microforms AN2 .R36

Carolinian (African American newspaper, 1945-1987)
Hunt Library BookBot Microforms AN2 .C374