Crop Sciences Research Guide
Crop Sciences Web Resources
Search
Engines and Subject Directories
General
Web Resources- Crop Sciences
Government
Agencies-web sites
Soil
Sciences
Turfgrass
Management
Agribusiness
Grant
and Contract Information
Search
Engines and Subject Directories
AgriSurfs-
"The Farmer's Search Engine"
http://www.agrisurf.com/agrisurfscripts/agrisurf.asp
A large subject directory to Agriculture and Crop Sciences.
Agriculture
Resources on the Internet
http://www.library.wisc.edu:80/libraries/Steenbock/electron/agdropin.htm
Agriculture Research Guide that links to databases and guides for
subjects within Agriculture. There is a good Crop Science guide
here.
WWW
Virtual Library- Agriculture
http://vlib.org/Agriculture.html
Directory includes links to many research, educational sites,
journals, organizations, databases, and documents related to agriculture.
General
Web Resources- Crop Sciences
Catalogs
for Agriculture
http://thorplus.lib.purdue.edu:80/all_libraries/agriculture.html
Lists of more than 180 Internet accessible libraries with significant
agricultural holdings.
PDA
Online- Agriculture for the 21st Century
http://sites.state.pa.us/PA_Exec/Agriculture/
market_reports/market_reports_index.htm
Pennsylvania's Department of Agriculture maintains this useful
site with full text information relating to agriculture, human
nutrition, community development, and consumer issues. Contains
over 12,000 reports, newsletters, bibliographies, and fact sheets,
as well as USDA daily press releases and market news reports .
AgNIC:
Agriculture Network Information Center
http://www.agnic.org/
Browse or search abstracts with links to data sources on agriculture,
agricultural economics, food crops, animal husbandry and livestock,
pesticides.
Transgenic
Crops
http://www.colostate.edu/programs/lifesciences/TransgenicCrops/main.html
The goal of this web site is to provide balanced information and
links to other resources on the technology and issues surrounding
transgenic crops (also known as genetically modified or GM crops).
Future
Harvest
http://www.futureharvest.org/
"Future Harvest builds public understanding of the importance
of international agricultural research to global peace, prosperity,
environmental renewal, health and the alleviation of suffering."
Plants
Database (USDA)
http://plants.usda.gov/plants/
"The PLANTS" Database is a single source of standardized information
about plants. This database focuses on vascular plants, mosses,
liverworts, hornworts, and lichens of the U.S. and its territories.
The PLANTS Database includes names, checklists, automated tools,
identification information, species abstracts, distributional
data, crop information, plant symbols, plant growth data, plant
materials information, plant links, references, and other plant
information
Top of Page
Government
Agencies-web sites
National
Agricultural Library (NAL)
http://www.nal.usda.gov/
Access to books, journals, maps, audiovisuals, oral histories,
and micro-computer software related to the field of agriculture.
- Agriculture
Factbook 1998
http://www.usda.gov/news/pubs/fbook98/content.htm
Complete document (available in PDF format) covers American
diet, food costs and prices, statistics on farms and farming,
demographic and economic information on rural America, the USDA
organization, rural development, nutrition, food safety, and
natural resources services of the Department, research and marketing
programs.
United
States Agriculture Department's Economic Research Service
http://www.ers.usda.gov/
Offers statistics on dairy production, livestock populations,
fact sheets on each state, form incomes, agricultural employment,
and more.
USDA
National Agricultural Statistics Service
http://www.usda.gov/nass/
Access to NASS reports, USDA Economics and Statistics System reports
and datasets, state agricultural statistics reports, report graphics,
and agency information.
USDA Research (CRIS) Database (via the Community
of Science)
http://fundedresearch.cos.com/usda/usda-intro.shtml
Contains summary reports of current research projects funded by
the USDA.
FAOSTAT
http://apps.fao.org/
Agricultural statistics from the United Nations' Food and Agriculture
Organization, including topics of agricultural production, food
trade, trade indices, commodity balances, food supply, producer
prices, land, means of production, food aid, exports of cereal,
population, fish production, and more.
Top of Page
Soil
Sciences
Sciences
of Soils- Soil Sciences on the Web
http://hintze-online.com/sos/soils-online.html
This site is a pathfinder for soil sciences internet resources.
Contains a glossary, soil taxonomy and classification, chemistry
and lecture notes. This is a great resource for getting started
with Soil Sciences research.
Soil
Taxonomy, 2nd. ed. Full text from Iowa State
(in PDF format)
Keys
to Soil Taxonomy, 8th ed, 1998
Soil
Surfs
http://www.agri.upm.edu.my/jst/resources.html
Contains tutorials about soils and links to information about
soils and agriculture
Turfgrass
Management
Turfgrass
Management and Use
http://aggie-horticulture.tamu.edu/plantanswers/turf/turf.html
Contains information on Turfgrass Culture, Turfgrass Variety
and Turfgrass Disease
Turfgrass
Management/Extension Services Links
http://www.uoguelph.ca/GTI/links/rel1c.htm
A list of turfgrass links from University of Guelph in Ontario,
Canada. Contains links to both University/Government/Public Sector
and Commercial/Private Sector information.
Top of Page
Agribusiness
Agriculture
Online
http://www.agriculture.com/
The @griculture Online site by Successful Farming magazine.
This site provides information on weather, commodity markets,
agricultural news, farmer discussion forums, etc.
Agribiz
http://www.agribiz.com/
Organizes Agricultural Business Resources on the Internet. Contains
quotes, market news, commodoties, USDA AMS Reports and market
analysis.
Agricultural
Market Information Virtual Library
http://www.aec.msu.edu/agecon/fs2/market/contents.htm
Market information sources available through the Internet: Daily
to yearly market and outlook reports, prices, commodities and
quotes
Cyberfarm
http://w3.ag.uiuc.edu/INFOAG/cyberfarm/
Created and maintained by the College of Agriculture at the University
of IIllinois. Provides information on production methods such
as "precision farming" with detailed maps of soil, variable rate
fertilizer application, and resulting yields. Links to resources
on marketing and commodities and has an agribusiness focus.
Grant
and Contract Information
Community of Science Funded Research
http://fundedresearch.cos.com/
National Science Foundation Grants and Awards
http://www.nsf.gov/home/grants.htm
USDA Research (CRIS) Database
http://cristel.nal.usda.gov:8080/
GrantsNet
http://www.grantsnet.org/
Funding opportunities in the biological and medical sciences
North Carolina State University Research Administration:
Resources
http://www2.ncsu.edu/ncsu/research_outreach_extension/resources/
Top of Page
Librarian Contact Information
|