Communication Research Guide

Librarian: Cynthia Levine

Library Resources

NCSU Libraries Online Catalog
Use the catalog - which is searchable by author, title, subject and keyword - to locate books and other materials, or to locate journal subscriptions. Searches can be limited by material type (such as book or journal title), language, or publication date.

NCSU Databases by Subject
These databases allow you to search for articles within specific disciplines. Communication is a highly interdisciplinary subject area. This list is for identifying databases in other disciplines that my be relevant to your work.

NCSU Libraries Journals
Use the Journals page to search for electronic publications. For more information, see Information about journals.

Guide to Getting Journal Articles


Communication Source
Extensive research resource for the fields of communication theory, mass media, organizational communication.  Developed from a merger of Comunication & Mass Media Complete and Communication Abstracts.

Communication abstracts (1978-2010)-- D.H. Hill Tower stacks: P87 .C598
Index to articles in scholarly journals - use especially for finding older articles

Film and Television Literature Index
Use to locate reviews of movies and television.

Reference Books

Encyclopedia of Communication and Information -- D. H. Learning Commons: P87.5 E53 2001
Encyclopedia of Communication Theory
International Encyclopedia of Communication
Encyclopedia of International Media and Communication - D.H. Hill Learning Commons: P 87.5 E532 2003

Encyclopedia of Political Communication
Encyclopedia of Science and Technology Communication
Encyclopedia of Health Communication

Encyclopedia of Rhetoric -- D.H. Hill Learning Commons: PN172 .E52 2001

Encyclopedia of New Media
Encyclopedia of Social Movement Media 
Encyclopedia of Information Communication Technology
History of the Mass Media in the United States -- D. H. Hill Learning Commons: P92 .U5 H57 1998


Professional Organizations

American Communication Association
National Communication Association
International Communication Association
Center on Media and Child Health