Skip to Quick Links BarSkip to Page Content
NCSU Libraries
Search the Collection
Browse Subjects
Services
Library Information
Community
News & Events
Browse Subjects
Get Answers Now

Home: Classics

Guide

Bibliographies and Indexes

Information about Classical Authors

Dictionaries and Handbooks

Web Resources

Writing Guidance

Classics: Research Guide

Bibliographies and Indexes

L'Annee Philologique
D.H. Hill Lib. Z1016 .A66 (9th floor)
This is the primary index for locating scholarly literature in classical studies. It is published every year, so it is necessary to search each volume separately. We have this index only in print format.

Greek and Roman Authors: A Checklist of Criticism
D.H. Hill Ref. PA3001 .G74 1982 (Learning Commons)
This is a one-volume reference book designed to supplement the MLA International biography by providing a list of English language criticism in scholarly journals focusing on ancient Greek and Latin writers.

Classical Greek and Roman Drama: An Annotated Bibliography
D.H. Hill Reference PA3024 .F67 1989 (Learning Commons)

JSTOR
Full text database of high quality journals, including a number in the area of classics. Searches pull up words from the full text of the articles. JSTOR imposes an embargo, so the most recent few years of each journal are not included in the database, but it does go all the way back to include the earliest volumes of each journal.

Academic Search Premier
Indexes selected scholarly and popular periodicals from a wide range of subject areas, including some in the classics. If you want to limit to scholarly journals, use the check box that reads Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals.

Humanities and Social Sciences Retrospective
Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective is a bibliographic database that cites articles from English-language periodicals. Periodical coverage includes some of the best-known scholarly journals and numerous lesser-known but important specialized magazines. Coverage includes a wide range of interdisciplinary fields covered in a broad array of humanities and social sciences journals. It includes core journal in the classics and ancient history. Dates covered: 1907 - 1984. (Make sure you check the box that says Humanities & Social Sci Retro)

Arts and Humanities Citation Index
This is part of a large database called Web of Science, which contains citations to scholarly journal articles in all subject area. The General Search permits keyword searching. The Cited Reference Search allows you to look up a work, and find out who later cited it.

ATLA Religion Database
This is the primary database that indexes scholarly journal articles written by scholars in the field of religion. Articles about writers such as Aquinas and Augustine would be covered here.

MLA International Bibliography
This is an index to literary criticism, but does not have ancient Greek and Latin authors as a primary part of its scope. If you search with the keyword plato, for example, you would find articles in which Plato is discussed in comparison with other modern writers, but not articles focusing solely on Plato.



Librarian Contact Information

NCSU Libraries Copyright | Disclaimer | Accessibility | Text Only | Contact Us | Staff Only NC State University