Civil Rights in the United States Research Guide
Local Archives
Raleigh
Guide to Desegregation of North Carolina State University
Mollie Huston Lee Collection (Richard B. Harrison Library)
Lee, the first African American Librarian in Wake County, developed
a collection chronicling the African American experience locally
and nationally. The Lee
Vertical File collection documents lives
of Africans in the Raleigh communities, and includes digitized
newpaper articles.
WRAL Archives: 1961 Civil Rights Protests
http://www.wral.com/news/local/video/1236100/
Sampling of television news footage from from Raleigh civil rights protests.
Chapel Hill
North
Carolina Collection (UNC-CH) - Clipping File
http://www.lib.unc.edu/ncc/ref/clip/clippings.html
Desegregation of the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, 1930-1955 http://www.lib.unc.edu/ncc/ref/unc/uncdesegregation.html
Research guide to materials about the desegregation of UNC-CH. Includes
newspaper articles gathered by North Carolina Collection staff members
and available in the University of North Carolina Clippings (CR378 UE7)
in the North Carolina Collection reading room.
University of North
Carolina - Chapel Hill, Southern Oral History Project (Part of
Civil Rights Documentation Project)
http://www.usm.edu/crdp/html/unc.shtml
Durham
African-American
Manuscript Materials in the Duke University (Rare Book, Manuscript,
and Special Collections Library)
http://scriptorium.lib.duke.edu/franklin/af-am-mss-collections.html
Durham Civil Rights Heritage Project
http://www.durhamcountylibrary.org/dcrhp/index.html
Durham Historic
Photographic Archive
http://www.durhamcountylibrary.org/photoarch/
Selena
Warren Wheeler Collection, Stanford L. Warren Branch Library, Durham
County Library
http://www.durhamcountylibrary.org/branches/wheeler.htm
History
of Durham, North Carolina: A Bibliography
http://www.lib.duke.edu/reference/subjects/durham.htm
Greensboro
Greensboro Sit-Ins: Launch
of a Civil Rights Movement (News and Record, and Greensboro Public
Library)
http://www.sitins.com/about.htm
General
Oral Histories of the American South
Civil rights interviews from Documenting the American South
http://docsouth.unc.edu/sohp/civil_rights.html
A History of African Americans in North Carolina (published by the
Division of Archives and History, N.C. Dept. of Cultural Resources)
D.H. Hill Lib. E185.93 N6 C77 1992 (3rd floor)
African Americana in North Carolina and at the University
of North Carolina at Chapel Hill (published by Academic Affairs Library :
Center for the Study of the American South : IRSS Faculty Working
Group in Southern Studies)
D.H. Hill Lib. E185.93 N6 A375 (3rd floor)
Librarian Contact Information
|