Skip to Quick Links BarSkip to Page Content
NCSU Libraries
Search the Collection
Browse Subjects
Services
Library Information
Community
News & Events
Browse Subjects
Get Answers Now

Home: CHEMISTRY

Reference Materials
  Dictionaries/Encyclopedias
  Spectra
  Preparation or Synthesis
  Physical and Chemical
    Properties

  Hazardous Properties
  Other

Teaching Materials

Databases

Websites

Course Pages

Chemistry Research Guide

Chemistry Reference Materials

Dictionaries and Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of Physical Science and Technology
D. H. Hill Reference Q123 . E497 1992

Hawley's Condensed Chemical Dictionary, 13th ed.
D. H. Hill Reference Desk QD5 .C5 1997

Van Nostrand Reinhold Encyclopedia of Chemistry, 4th ed.
D. H. Hill Reference Desk QD5 .V37 1984

Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology
D. H. Hill Reference TP9 .E685 1992

null Top of Page

Spectra

Aldrich Library of 13C and 1H FT-NMR Spectra (sample reference)
D. H. Hill Reference QC462.85 .A44 1993

Aldrich Library of FT-IR Spectra (sample reference)
D. H. Hill Reference QD96 .I5 P66 1997

The Spectral Database for Organic Compounds (SDBS)
A free site organized by National Institute of Advanced Industrial Science and Technology (AIST), Japan.

null Top of Page

Preparation or Synthesis

Beilstein/Gmelin via CrossFire
Contains information on the preparation and properties of organic compounds (Beilstein) and inorganic compounds (Gmelin). Access to these databases requires separate client software, which is mounted on the standalone workstation located near the reference desk at D. H. Hill Library. The Client software can also be downloaded and installed onto personal workstations. Note: An NC State IP address is required to connect to the Beilstein / Gmelin Databases. To familiarize yourself with the use of Beilstein/Gmelin, consult the Beilstein and Gmelin Quick Guide.

Print version: Beilstein Handbook of Organic Chemistry, 4th ed., QD251 .B4.

Chemical Abstracts (SciFinder Scholar)
Chemical Abstracts is the most comprehensive index for chemical research. It covers more than 10,000 journals, as well as books, conference proceedings, and patents. The Client software can be downloaded and installed onto personal workstations.Otherwise, SciFinder Scholar is available on all of the terminals in the Reference area of D. H. Hill, but not remotely via a network connection. You may search Chemical Abstracts by general subject, chemical substance name, molecular formula, ring system structure, author, or patent number. See the Chemical Abstracts library guide (on the publications rack by the Reference Desk) for more information.
Coverage: 1967-present.

Print version: Chemical Abstracts, D. H. Hill Ref. QD1 .C4 (1907-present).

Dictionary of Organic Compounds, 6th ed. (sample entry)
D. H. Hill Reference QD246 .D5

Merck Index
Print version: Merck Index, D. H. Hill Ref. Desk RS51 .M4 (metal cabinet; bring ID to use).

Organic Syntheses Collective Volumes
D. H. Hill Reference QD262 .O72

null Top of Page

Physical and Chemical Properties

Beilstein/Gmelin via CrossFire
Contains information on the preparation and properties of organic compounds (Beilstein) and inorganic compounds (Gmelin). Access to these databases requires separate client software, which is mounted on the standalone workstation located near the reference desk at D. H. Hill Library. The Client software can also be downloaded and installed onto personal workstations. Note: An NC State IP address is required to connect to the Beilstein / Gmelin Databases. To familiarize yourself with the use of Beilstein/Gmelin, consult the Beilstein and Gmelin Quick Guide.

Print version: Beilstein Handbook of Organic Chemistry, 4th ed., QD251 .B4.

ChemExper
Contains 60000+ compounds together with their physical properties such as boiling point, melting point, IR spectrum (5000+), MSDS (12000+), supplier information, 2D and 3D structures.

ChemFinder

CHEMnetBASE
Contains the Dictionary of Commonly Cited Compounds, Dictionary of Drugs, Dictionary of Inorganic and Organomettalic Compounds, Dictionary of Natural Products, Dictionary of Organic Compounds, The CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics, Polymers: A Property Database, and Properties of Organic Compounds

CRC Handbook of Chemistry & Physics (sample entry)
D. H. Hill Reference Desk QD65 .C44 (metal cabinet; bring ID to use)

Composite Index for CRC Handbooks
D. H. Hill Reference Desk QD65 .C74

Lange's Handbook of Chemistry
D. H. Hill Reference Desk QD65 .L36 1992

Dictionary of Inorganic Compounds
D. H. Hill Reference QD148 .D53

Dictionary of Organic Compounds, 6th ed. (sample entry)
D. H. Hill Reference QD246 .D5

Handbook of Data on Organic Compounds (CRC) (sample entry)
D. H. Hill Reference QD257.7 .H36 1994

Dictionary of Natural Products
D. H. Hill Reference QD415 .A25 D53 Also available on CD-ROM (Reference Desk metal cabinet; bring ID to use)

Merck Index
Print version: Merck Index, D. H. Hill Ref. Desk RS51 .M4 (metal cabinet; bring ID to use).

Aldrich Catalog Handbook of Fine Chemicals
D. H. Hill Ref. TP202 .A42

null Top of Page

Hazardous Properties

Material Safety Data Sheets
Collection of over 70,000 material safety data sheets for chemical products. MSDSs commonly contain information on chemical and physical properties; health, fire and reactivity hazards; environmental and regulatory requirements; spill and disposal procedures; first aid recommendations; and storage, handling and personal protective equipment.

Sax's Dangerous Properties of Industrial Materials (sample entry)
D. H. Hill Reference T55.3 .H3 S3 1996

Sigma-Aldrich Library of Chemical Safety Data (sample entry)
D. H. Hill Reference T55.3 H3 S53 1988

Sigma-Aldrich Library of Regulatory & Safety Data
D. H. Hill Reference T55.3 H3 S55 1993

Registry of Toxic Effects of Chemical Substances (RTECS) (sample entry)
Microforms Center HE20.7112/3: (located on second floor, east wing of D. H. Hill Library)

null Top of Page

Other

Named Organic Reactions
D. H. Hill Reference QD291 .L35 1998


Librarian Contact Information

   
NCSU Libraries Copyright | Disclaimer | Accessibility | Text Only | Contact Us | Staff Only NC State University