Finding Chemical Reactions: Chemistry Guide

Chemical structure and reaction searching is an essential technique for chemists, especially organic chemists. There are databases specially designed for this purpose.

 

Reaxys (NCSU users only)
Reaxys is a web-based search and retrieval system for chemical compounds, bibliographic data and chemical reactions. Combined data from three sources: The Beilstein Database, The Gmelin Database, and The Patent Chemistry Database.
See below for guides and tutorials:

For detailed instruction on reaction searching using Reaxys for undergraduate students taking CH224, see CH224 guide.

 

SciFinder(NCSU users only)
SciFinder provides online access to Chemical Abstracts, other Chemical Abstract Services databases, MedLine, and chemical patents. SciFinder offers various search options including reference searching, structure searching, and reaction searching.
CAS provides a number of help files and guides on SciFinder.
For detailed instruction on reaction searching using SciFinder for undergraduate students taking CH224, see CH224 guide.

Organic Syntheses
Organic Syntheses provides detailed, reliable, and carefully checked procedures for the synthesis of organic compounds. "Some procedures describe practical methods for the preparation of specific compounds of interest, while other procedures illustrate important synthetic methods with general utility. Each procedure is written in considerably more detail as compared to typical experimental procedures in other journals, and each reaction and all characterization data has been carefully "checked" for reproducibility in the laboratory of a member of the Board of Editors." - From Organic Syntheses