Skip to Quick Links BarSkip to Page Content
NCSU Libraries
Search the Collection
Browse Subjects
Services
Library Information
Community
News & Events
Browse Subjects
Get Answers Now

Home: CHEMISTRY

Reference Materials
  Dictionaries/Encyclopedias
  Spectra
  Preparation or Synthesis
  Physical and Chemical
    Properties

  Hazardous Properties
  Other

Teaching Materials

Databases

Websites

Course Pages

Chemistry Research Guide

Chemistry databases can help you find journal articles, citation information, and a wealth of chemical properties. To access NCSU Libraries Chemistry Databases:
http://www.lib.ncsu.edu/searchcollection/databases/

The following databases are grouped by core resources, then more narrowly defined databases that cover only subsections of chemistry, and finally those related databases that do include chemistry coverage, but also handle other disciplines.

Core Chemistry Databases

Chemical Abstracts (SciFinder Scholar)
Chemical Abstracts is the most comprehensive index for chemical research. It covers more than 10,000 journals, as well as books, conference proceedings, and patents. You may search Chemical Abstracts by general subject, chemical substance name, molecular formula, ring system structure, author, or patent number. See the Chemical Abstracts library guide (on the publications rack by the Reference Desk) for more information.
Coverage: 1967-present.
Print version: Chemical Abstracts, (1907-present).
Science citation index expanded (Web of Science)
Multidisciplinary index to the journal literature of the sciences. Has searchable author abstracts. Can view article bibliographies and search cited references and authors. (more info) Includes Science Citation Index Expanded (covering over 5,300 journals in the sciences across 100 scientific disciplines). Has searchable author abstracts. Can view article bibliographies and search cited references and authors.
Coverage: 1973-present. Updated weekly.
Print version: Science Citation Index, Q1 .S325 (1945-present).

Beilstein/Gmelin via CrossFire
Contains information on the preparation and properties of organic compounds (Beilstein) and inorganic compounds (Gmelin). Access to these databases requires separate client software, which is mounted on the standalone workstation located near the reference desk at D. H. Hill Library. The Client software can also be downloaded and installed onto personal workstations. Note: An NC State IP address is required to connect to the Beilstein / Gmelin Databases. To familiarize yourself with the use of Beilstein/Gmelin, consult the Beilstein and Gmelin Quick Guide.

ChemNetBase
Includes the CRC Handbook and several chemical dictionaries. A good source for property data, and some structures for many types of organic compounds, including polymers and natural products.
(more info)

null Top of Page

RELATED DATABASES

These databases cover related or narrower areas of chemistry:
Bioengineering abstracts - (more info)
Cambridge scientific abstracts (CSA) - (more info)
Chemoreception abstracts - (more info)
DOE information bridge - (more info)
EnergyFiles - (more info)
FSTA - (more info)
Medical and pharmaceutical biotechnology abstracts - (more info)
MEDLINE - (more info)
MSDS, Material safety data sheets - (more info)
PubMed - (more info)
The Merck index - (more info)
Toxicology abstracts - (more info)
TOXLINE - (more info) These databases include some coverage of chemistry, but are NOT specifically chemistry databases:

Applied science & technology index - (more info)
Conference papers index - (more info)
Dissertation abstracts - (more info)
Ingenta - (more info)
NTIS - (more info)

 Indexes government technical reports. Reports indexed here are generally available on microfiche in the Microforms Center, Second Floor, East Wing of D. H. Hill Library.

Coverage:1964 - present.
Print version: Government Reports Announcements, Doc Ref C51.94/3 (-1996).

Pubscience - (more info)
ScienceDirect - (more info)

null Top of Page

Librarian Contact Information

NCSU Libraries Copyright | Disclaimer | Accessibility | Text Only | Contact Us | Staff Only NC State University