Graduate Chemistry Research Research Guide
The table below presents a simplified version of the research and information
cycle.
Basic steps in the research process are outlined in the first column.
The types of information produced during these research and publication
processes are listed in the second column.
This
is called an information CYCLE because information
that is produced as the result of one phase of research is then used by
other scientists when they become involved in a related research project.
Steps in the Research Process
|
Types of Information Published
|
| Ideas |
|
| Design and perform research |
|
| Present
results at seminars and conferences |
Meeting
abstracts
Conference proceedings
|
| Publish
results in a journal |
Journal
articles |
| Over
time others read and evaluate the research and incorporate it into
databases, reviews and other articles, and books and reference materials |
Indexing
& abstracting databases
Handbooks and data compilations,
review articles, books, textbooks, encyclopedias
|
Journal
articles, meeting abstracts, and conference proceedings are called PRIMARY
sources because they publish original information. These sources are generally
the most current.
Databases,
handbooks, reviews, books, encyclopedias, etc. are called SECONDARY
sources because they analyze, review, compile, or index previously published
information. Secondary sources are often less up-to-date than primary
sources.
Different
types of information are useful at various stages of the research process.
Understanding this cycle will help you determine when and what types
of information you might need during your own research.
Top of Page
Below you will find a list of several information sources and the kinds of information
that can be found in each source. Each blue link will take you to a page
that explains how to find this type of information and lists specific
resources.
|
Background
Information
|
If
you are unfamiliar with a topic or are beginning research in a new
area, you may want to start by looking for background information.
You can find background information in review articles, books and
textbooks, and encyclopedias. Locate these by searching the library
catalog (for books) and databases (for articles).
|
|
Chemical Information
|
When
working with specific chemicals, you may need to know about their
physical and chemical properties, as well as any hazards and safe
handling procedures.
Chemical information can be found in handbooks, catalogs, and data
compilations. Many of these materials are located in the reference
department.
|
|
Journal Articles
|
Journal
articles are an extremely important part of chemical information.
Journal articles contain original research reported by the scientists
who did the research.
Databases and indexes are used to locate journal articles on specific
topics. The major chemistry database is Chemical Abstracts. Databases
can be accessed through the library's home page or on the reference
computers.
|
|
Keeping
Up with the Literature
|
| A
variety of tools are available to help scientists keep current with
the literature and manage references and resources. These include
current awareness services that provide regular updates on topics,
personalized portals, and bibliographic management software. |
|
Other
Information
|
| Useful
chemical information can be found in a variety of other sources, such
as patents, technical reports, and theses and dissertations |
Top of Page
Librarian Contact Information
|