Skip to Quick Links BarSkip to Page Content
NCSU Libraries
Search the Collection
Browse Subjects
Services
Library Information
Community
News & Events
Browse Subjects
Get Answers Now

Home: GRADUATE CHEMISTRY RESEARCH

The Research Process & Information Cycle

Background Information
Review Articles
Books
Encyclopedias

Chemical Properties & Safety
Physical & Chemical Properties
Spectra
Hazardous Properties

Finding Journal Articles
Chemical Abstracts
Science Citation Index
Other Chemistry Databases

Keeping Up with the Literature
Alerts
MyLibrary
Refworks and EndNote
Resources for Research & Writing

Other Types of Information

Graduate Chemistry Research Guide

Picture of a flask

A number of other information sources can be very useful in chemistry. These include patents, dissertations and theses, and technical reports. These sources often contain primary information that may not be located elsewhere.

Patents

N.C. State University is a patent depository library. See the patent searching web site for more information on searching patents. Patent searching can be done in the library using patent office software, or through the patent office website: http://www.uspto.gov/. SciFinder Scholar also indexes chemical patents.

Technical Reports

National Technical Information Service (NTIS)
NTIS indexes government technical reports. Reports indexed here are generally available on microfiche in the Microforms Center, Second Floor, East Wing of D. H. Hill Library.
Coverage: 1964-present.
Print version: Govt. Reports Ann., Doc Ref C51.94/3 (-1996).

DOE Information Bridge
Contains full-text of DOE research and development reports in physics, chemistry, materials, biology, environmental sciences, energy technologies, engineering, computer and information science, renewable energy, and other topics.
Coverage: 1996-present.
Print version: Energy Research Abstracts, Doc Ref E1.17: (1976-1995).

Dissertations

Dissertation Abstracts
Indexing and abstracting for doctoral dissertations from participating colleges and universities in the U.S., Canada, and selected international institutions. Also contains citations, with abstracts (since 1988), to masters' theses.
Coverage: 1861-present. Updated monthly.
Print version: Dissertation Abstracts, LB7 .M5.

null Top of Page

Librarian Contact Information

NCSU Libraries Copyright | Disclaimer | Accessibility | Text Only | Contact Us | Staff Only NC State University