Skip to Quick Links BarSkip to Page Content
NCSU Libraries
Search the Collection
Browse Subjects
Services
Library Information
Community
News & Events
Browse Subjects
Get Answers Now

Home: GRADUATE CHEMISTRY RESEARCH

The Research Process & Information Cycle

Background Information
Review Articles
Books
Encyclopedias

Chemical Properties & Safety
Physical & Chemical Properties
Spectra
Hazardous Properties

Finding Journal Articles
Chemical Abstracts
Science Citation Index
Other Chemistry Databases

Keeping Up with the Literature
Alerts
MyLibrary
Refworks and EndNote
Resources for Research & Writing

Other Types of Information

Graduate Chemistry Research Research Guide

Picture of a flask

Keeping up with the Literature

More than half a million chemistry articles are published each year in 100s of chemistry journals. Keeping current with the chemistry literature presents an enormous challenge.

The resources listed on this page include tools to help you not only keep current with the literature, but also assist you in monitoring and managing information.

Alert Services

Alert services help keep you up-to-date with the literature by providing regular email "alerts." Two types of alerts are Table of Contents (TOC) alerts that send you the TOCs of specific journals as soon as they are published. Topical alerts allow you to set up searches on specific topics. The alert service performs the search at regular intervals and sends you the results. If NCSU Libraries has a subscription to the online version of a journal, the alerts will provide links to the full-text articles.

Alert services available at NCSU include:
American Chemical Society E-mail Alerts
Ingenta (formerly Carl Uncover) Alerts
ScienceDirect (Elsevier journals) Alerts
Ideal (Academic Press and other publishers) Alerts

MyLibrary@NCState

MyLibrary is an information portal that you can personalize to display and provide links to the information resources (electronic journals, databases, web sites, etc.) that you find most useful. When you set up a MyLibrary account, you can select a discipline and the modify the choices to reflect your preferences. Go to MyLibrary to set up your account.

Managing References

NCSU Libraries supports the use of RefWorks and EndNote software for bibliographic management. With these tools, you can download search results directly into your own database of citations. The database can include information such as title, author, publication information, keywords, and abstracts. This allows you to build your own collection of references and assemble these references into a correctly formatted bibliography for papers and articles.

Selected Resources for Research and Writing

The ACS Style Guide: A Manual for Authors and Editors, 2d. ed., The American Chemical Society.
D. H. Hill Reference Desk QD8.5 .A25 1997

How to Find Chemical Information: A Guide for Practicing Chemists, Educators, and Students, 3d ed. by Robert E. Maizell. Wiley-Interscience.
D. H. Hill Library QD8.5 M34 1998

null Top of Page

Librarian Contact Information

NCSU Libraries Copyright | Disclaimer | Accessibility | Text Only | Contact Us | Staff Only NC State University