Skip to Quick Links BarSkip to Page Content
NCSU Libraries
Search the Collection
Browse Subjects
Services
Library Information
Community
News & Events
Browse Subjects
Get Answers Now

Home: GRADUATE CHEMISTRY RESEARCH

The Research Process & Information Cycle

Background Information
Review Articles
Books
Encyclopedias

Chemical Properties & Safety
Physical & Chemical Properties
Spectra
Hazardous Properties

Finding Journal Articles
Chemical Abstracts
Science Citation Index
Other Chemistry Databases

Keeping Up with the Literature
Alerts
MyLibrary
Refworks and EndNote
Resources for Research & Writing

Other Types of Information

Graduate Chemistry Research Research Guide

Picture of a flask

Finding Journal Articles

Journal articles are one of the major sources of information in chemistry. They provide primary information: scientists presenting the results of their own research. Journals are accessible through the library's web site, at this address: http://www.lib.ncsu.edu/journals/

If a topic is too current or too specific to be covered by a handbook, encyclopedia, or book, it may only be covered in journal articles or conference papers.

Navigating the journal literature is often easiest through indexing and abstracting services. These used to be available only in print, but now many are available as electronic databases. Indexes are the quickest way to search through vast quantities of journal articles.

The primary index for chemistry is Chemical Abstracts (electronically, Chemical Abstracts is searched with SciFinder Scholar) which has extensize coverage of the chemical literature. Web of Science is another important database for chemists and allows citation searching.

Other databases in related disciplines, may also have relevant information, especially for interdisciplinary subjects. Most of these databases are available through the Libraries' website at http://www.lib.ncsu.edu/searchcollection/databases/.

Finding full text: Searching through abstracts is the hardest step, but not the final step. Sometimes full text will be available within the database, in which case you will see a link beside the item. If not:
1. Click on this logo within the database you're searching: SFX logo

2. If you don't see that logo (not all databases can use it), check to see if the journal containing the article is located in NCSU's list of journals (here: http://www.lib.ncsu.edu/journals/) or search the catalog. (Journals may be available electronically, in print, or in both formats. Availability depends greatly on the age of the article and the publisher.)

If the journal name is abbreviated, one way to find the full title is by using CASSI (available in print only, located on the stand by the DH Hill Reference Desk). You can also try here. With the full title, you can conduct a search (as in above paragraph).

3. Doesn't seem to be owned by the library? Contact a librarian for help, or request an interlibrary loan through Tripsaver.

PRIMARY CHEMISTRY & RELATED DATABASES

Chemical Abstracts (SciFinder Scholar)
Chemical Abstracts is the most comprehensive index for chemical research. It covers more than 10,000 journals, as well as books, conference proceedings, and patents. You may search Chemical Abstracts by general subject, chemical substance name, molecular
formula, chemical structure, author, or patent number.
Coverage: 1967-present.
Print version: Chemical Abstracts (1907-present).

Web of Science
Includes Science Citation Index Expanded (covering over 5,300 journals in the sciences across 100 scientific disciplines). Has searchable author abstracts. Can view article bibliographies and search cited references and authors.
Coverage: 1973-present. Updated weekly.
Print version: Science Citation Index, Q1 .S325 (1945-present).

null Top of Page

OTHER CHEMISTRY-RELATED DATABASES

Applied Science & Technology Index
Indexes over 300 English language technology and engineering publications. Includes journal articles, meeting reports, industry news, book reviews, interviews, and new product reviews. Subject areas covered include: aeronautics and space science; artificial intelligence; fire and fire prevention; civil, electrical, and mechanical engineering; textiles and fabrics; mathematics; robotics; and metallurgy.
Coverage: October 1983-present. Updated monthly.
Print version: Applied Science & Technology Index, T10.7.A88 (1958-1995).

Cambridge Scientific Abstracts
Over forty databases with abstracts, including information on toxicology, environmental sciences and engineering, and a variety of life science areas. Relevant databases include Bioengineering Abstracts, Conference Papers Index, MEDLINE, and Toxicology Abstracts.

Compendex
Coverage of engineering and technological literature published worldwide.
Coverage: 1970-present. Updated monthly.
Print version: Engineering Index, TA1 .E5833.

Expanded Academic Index
Login as "academic" Includes many American Chemical Society journal references with abstracts. Keyword searching is recommended.
Coverage: 1992-present. Updated biweekly.

null Top of Page

Librarian Contact Information

NCSU Libraries Copyright | Disclaimer | Accessibility | Text Only | Contact Us | Staff Only NC State University