Skip to Quick Links BarSkip to Page Content
NCSU Libraries
Search the Collection
Browse Subjects
Services
Library Information
Community
News & Events
Browse Subjects
Get Answers Now

Home: GRADUATE CHEMISTRY RESEARCH

The Research Process & Information Cycle

Background Information
Review Articles
Books
Encyclopedias

Chemical Properties & Safety
Physical & Chemical Properties
Spectra
Hazardous Properties

Finding Journal Articles
Chemical Abstracts
Science Citation Index
Other Chemistry Databases

Keeping Up with the Literature
Alerts
MyLibrary
Refworks and EndNote
Resources for Research & Writing

Other Types of Information

Graduate Chemistry Research Guide

Picture of a flask

Chemical Properties and Safety

Note: This page lists a few of the major sources for chemical properties. There are many more. If you have problems finding what you need, please Ask A Librarian for assistance.

Physical and Chemical Properties

CRC Handbook of Chemistry & Physics
D. H. Hill Reference Desk QD65 .C44 (metal cabinet; bring ID to use)
Available online as part of ChemNetBase.

Merck Index
D. H. Hill Reference Desk RS51 .M4 (metal cabinet; bring ID to
use). Available online only in D. H. Hill Library.

Lange's Handbook of Chemistry
D. H. Hill Reference Desk QD65 .L36 1992

Aldrich Catalog Handbook of Fine Chemicals
Print version: Aldrich Catalog Handbook of Fine Chemicals
D. H. Hill Reference TP202 .A42. Also available online.

Handbook of Physical Properties of Organic Compounds
D. H. Hill Reference QD257.7 .H374 1997

Dictionary of Inorganic Compounds
D. H. Hill Reference QD148 .D53

Dictionary of Organic Compounds, 6th ed.
D. H. Hill Reference QD246 .D5

Dictionary of Natural Products
D. H. Hill Reference QD415 .A25 D53

Combined Chemical Dictionary (ChemNetBase)
Online, searchable database containing six chemical dictionaries, including the Dictionary of Organic Compounds, Dictionary of Inorganic & Organometallic Compounds, and the Dictionary of Natural Products.

Beilstein/Gmelin via CrossFire (Database)
Beilstein/Gmelin contains extensive information on the preparation and properties of millions of organic compounds (Beilstein) and inorganic and organometallic compounds (Gmelin).
Access requires separate client software, which is mounted on the standalone workstation located near the reference desk at D. H. Hill Library.
To familiarize yourself with the use of Beilstein/Gmelin, consult the Beilstein and Gmelin Quick Guide (online) or the Beilstein Handbook of Organic Chemistry, 4th ed., QD251 .B4 (print).

Index to Physical, Chemical and Other Property Data
An extensive list of properties with listings of print and electronic resources that contain the property information. The print resources listed are at Arizona State University, so you will need to look them up in the NCSU catalog. Also includes "10 Easy Tips for Finding Property Data."

ChemExper
Contains 60,000+ compounds with their physical properties such as boiling point, melting point, IR spectrum (5000+), MSDS (12000+), supplier information, 2D and 3D structures.

ChemFinder

NIST Physical Reference Data
Fundamental physical constants, atomic and molecular spectroscopic data, ionization data, etc.

NIST WebBook
Thermochemical data, reaction thermochemistry data, IR spectra, mass spectra, electronic/vibrational spectra, constants of diatomic molecules (spectroscopic data), ion energetics data, thermophysical property data, structures, common and commercial names.

null Top of Page

Spectra

Aldrich Library of 13C and 1H FT-NMR Spectra
D. H. Hill Reference QC462.85 .A44 1993

Aldrich Library of FT-IR Spectra
D. H. Hill Reference QD96 .I5 P66 1997

The Spectral Database for Organic Compounds (SDBS)
A free site organized by National Institute of Advanced Industrial Science and Technology (AIST), Japan.

Hazardous Properties

Material Safety Data Sheets (Database)
Collection of over 70,000 material safety data sheets for chemical products. MSDSs commonly contain information on chemical and physical properties; health, fire and reactivity hazards; environmental and regulatory requirements; spill and disposal procedures; first aid recommendations; and storage, handling and personal protective equipment.

Sax's Dangerous Properties of Industrial Materials
D. H. Hill Reference T55.3 .H3 S3 1996

Sigma-Aldrich Library of Chemical Safety Data
D. H. Hill Reference T55.3 H3 S53 1988

Sigma-Aldrich Library of Regulatory & Safety Data
D. H. Hill Reference T55.3 H3 S55 1993

null Top of Page

Librarian Contact Information

NCSU Libraries Copyright | Disclaimer | Disability Services | Text Only | Contact Us | Staff Only NC State University