Skip to Quick Links BarSkip to Page Content
NCSU Libraries
Search the Collection
Browse Subjects
Services
Library Information
Community
News & Events
Browse Subjects
Get Answers Now

Home: GRADUATE CHEMISTRY RESEARCH

The Research Process & Information Cycle

Background Information
Review Articles
Books
Encyclopedias

Chemical Properties & Safety
Physical & Chemical Properties
Spectra
Hazardous Properties

Finding Journal Articles
Chemical Abstracts
Science Citation Index
Other Chemistry Databases

Keeping Up with the Literature
Alerts
MyLibrary
Refworks and EndNote
Resources for Research & Writing

Other Types of Information

Graduate Chemistry Research Guide

Picture of a flask

Background Information

Review Articles

Review articles provide an extensive survey of the literature on a topic and are a valuable way of obtaining background information. Many chemistry journals publish review articles on selected topics.

Some databases, such as SciFinder Scholar, allow you to limit your search to locate only review articles. This is the most efficient way to locate review articles on a topic.

Some journals publish mostly review articles. These include:

Chemical Reviews
D. H. Hill QD1 .C41
Full-text articles (v. 96, 1996-present) available online

Chemical Society Reviews
QD1 .C439
Full-text articles (issue 1, 1998- ) available online

Books

Both general background and in-depth information may be found in books and textbooks. Many chemistry books cover a specific compound or family of compounds in either a single volume or a series.

Locate books on your subject by searching the library catalog. Some search tips are provided below. Use the pull-down menu to select the type of search you wish to perform.

If you know the title or author of a specific book, you can search by Title or by Author.

To locate books on a specific subject, try searching by Keyword or Subject Heading. A Keyword search looks for a word or words in the title, subject terms, and other parts of the catalog record. Subject searches use very specific, predefined subject terms. One method for searching is to begin with a Keyword search, and then look at your results. If you find a good book, look at the Subject Heading terms and click on a specific term to focus your search.

For more information, select "Examples/Help" in the gray box on the catalog search page.

null Top of Page

Encyclopedias and Dictionaries

Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology
D. H. Hill Reference TP9 .E685 1992

Encyclopedia of Analytical Chemistry
D. H. Hill Reference QD71.5 .E52 2000

Encyclopedia of Computational Chemistry
D. H. Hill Reference QD39.3.E46 E53 1998

Encyclopedia of Inorganic Chemistry
D. H. Hill Reference QD148 .E53 1994

Encyclopedia of Physical Science and Technology
D. H. Hill Reference Q123 . E497 1992

Encyclopedia of Spectroscopy and Spectrometry
D. H. Hill Reference QD95 .E55 2000

Hawley's Condensed Chemical Dictionary, 13th ed.
D. H. Hill Reference Desk QD5 .C5 1997

Industrial Inorganic Chemicals and Products : an Ullmann's Encyclopedia
D. H. Hill Reference TP9 .I53 1998

Macmillan Encyclopedia of Chemistry
D. H. Hill Reference QD4 .M33 1997

McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology.
D. H. Hill Reference Q121 .M3 1997

Van Nostrand Reinhold Encyclopedia of Chemistry, 4th ed.
D. H. Hill Reference Desk QD5 .V37 1984

null Top of Page

Librarian Contact Information

NCSU Libraries Copyright | Disclaimer | Accessibility | Text Only | Contact Us | Staff Only NC State University