Procurement & Logistics

Librarian: Jennifer Garrett

Working Papers . Suppliers & Manufacturing . Procurement . Transportation . Trade . Commodities . Economic Forecasts

Finding Articles

 Business Source Complete is an article abstracts and fulltext database that provides searching across a number of scholarly and trade publications. Though not comprehensive, it is the indispensible starting place for finding both scholarly articles and industry pubilcations.

Journal List: You can also look for individual journal titles related to supply chain management topics such as logistics, transportation, procurement, etc., by using the Libraries' Journal List, e.g. Logistics Management

For publications and statistics beyond the scope of BSP and the journal list, review some of the government, institutional, and industry sources below.

 

Working Papers

WebpageSupply Chain Resource Cooperative (SCRC) Portal at NC State
http://scm.ncsu.edu

WebpageHarvard Business School Working Knowledge Collection, Operations
http://hbswk.hbs.edu/topics/operations.html

 

Manufacturing

In the past highly specialized print directories provided lists of manufacturers, wholesalers and suppliers. Today many online portals offer listings for similar kinds of information. One source that has been around since the print days and now has gone online is ThomasNet - their site provides two versions of their directory: U.S. and Global, and allows you search for suppliers and compare 2-5 companies side-by-side.

WebpageThomasNet
http://www.thomasnet.com

WebpageThomasGlobal
http://www.thomasglobal.com

WebpageManufacturing.Net
http://www.manufacturing.net

WebpageNational Association of Manufacturers (NAM)
http://www.nam.org/s_nam/index.asp

WebpageOperations & Fulfillment Magazine
http://opsandfulfillment.com

WebpageNTMA Manufacturing Suppliers Guide
http://manufacturingsuppliersguide.com/

 

Procurement

WebpageCenter for Advanced Purchasing Studies (CAPS)
http://www.capsresearch.org

WebpageChartered Institute of Purchasing & Supply (CIPS)
http://www.cips.org

WebpageInstitute for Supply Management (ISM)
http://www.ism.ws

WebpageNational Association of State Procurement Officials (NASPO)
http://www.naspo.org

 

Transportation, Logistics

WebpageRegulatory Requirements for Businesses by Industry (Business.gov)
http://www.business.gov/industries/

Webpage American Society of Transportation & Logistics (ASTL)
http://www.astl.org/

WebpageCouncil of Supply Chain Management Professionals (CSCMP)
http://www.cscmp.org/

WebpageInternational Society of Logistics (SOLE)
http://www.sole.org/

WebpageAirlines for America, Economics & Analysis
http://www.airlines.org/Pages/m_Economics_Analysis.aspx

 

Trade, Importing & Exporting

WebpageCountry and Product Trade Data (U.S. Census Bureau)
http://www.census.gov/foreign-trade/statistics/country/index.html

WebpageInternational Trade Administration
http://www.trade.gov

WebpageU.S. International Trade Commission
http://www.usitc.gov

WebpageU.S. Customs and Border Protection
http://www.cbp.gov/xp/cgov/trade/

WebpageWorld Trade Organization (WTO), Trade Topics
http://www.wto.org/english/tratop_e/tratop_e.htm

WebpageUN Commodity Trade Statistics Database
http://comtrade.un.org/db/

WebpageBrookings Institute, Trade Topics
http://www.brookings.edu/topics/trade.aspx

WebpageOrganization for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD), Trade Portal
www.oecd.org/trade

 OECD iLibrary

 

Commodities, Futures, Options

WebpageBloomberg Active Futures
http://www.bloomberg.com/markets/commodities/cfutures.html

WebpageCommodity Futures Trading Commission
http://www.cftc.gov

WebpageCommodity Charts and Quotes
http://www.tfc-charts.w2d.com/menu.html

WebpageOptions Clearing Corporation
http://www.theocc.com

WebpageOpions Industry Council
http://www.optionseducation.org

WebpageUSGS - Commodity Statistics and Information
http://minerals.usgs.gov/minerals/pubs/commodity

WebpageUN Commodity Trade Statistics Database
http://comtrade.un.org/db