Labor, Human Resources, & Personnel Management

Librarian: Jennifer Garrett

Finding Scholarly Articles

Scholarly literature or articles that report on original research are indexed in databases that help you explore and find out what has been published on a given topic or subject. Although many of these databases contain full text articles, the original and key function they serve is to help keep track of the scholarly work being produced world wide, often organized around academic disciplines. Articles are published in journals and other types of periodical publications whether online or in print. The library subscribes to many of these publications and offers Tripsaver service for accessing articles that exist beyond our local collections. Below are some recommended databases that index scholarly and trade publications that are relevant to business and management topics.

 Business Source Complete
Provides full text coverage, indexing and abstracts for scholarly business, management and economics journals, including peer-reviewed publications. Business publications covered also include trade periodicals such as Business Week, Forbes, Harvard Business Review.

 Web of Science (Social Science Index)
Provides multidisciplinary coverage of journals in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities, as well as international proceedings coverage of conferences.

 LexisNexis Academic
From the LexisNexis Academic homepage, select "Business" and then "Business News". The default search is for a subset, "Business and Finance." This segment of LexisNexis Academic contains business articles from newspapers, magazines, journals, wires & transcripts.

 PsycINFO
PsycINFO is an American Psychological Association database covering worldwide literature in psychology and related disciplines, such as psychiatry, sociology, anthropology, education, linguistics, and pharmacology. It includes dissertations, journal articles, technical reports and book chapters.

 Wall Street Journal
Provides searchable full text access to articles from the WSJ.


Wage, Salary & Labor Cost Statistics and Data

Here are some sources of figures and reports on labor costs in the U.S. and beyond.

 Global Insight

  • Use Datainsight-Web tool to search for and export international wage data (e.g. hourly rate for manufacturing or unit labor costs).
  • Use the Country Intelligence section for risk ratings and reports, which include analysis on Operations and Labor.

WebpageCareer One Stop - Salary + Benefits

  • Information and statistics portal sponsored by the U.S. Dept of Labor and the Employment and Training Administration. Allows you to compare wages and salaries in various job types and industries in the U.S. by geographical regions (states, metropolitan area, etc.).

Webpage Local Employment Dynamics (Census Bureau)

  • The Quarterly Workforce Indicators (QWI) from the Local Employment Dynamics page provides information on labor markets that is local, at the state, county and sub county levels; and supplies statistics on employment, job creation, turnover, and earnings by industry, age and sex.

Webpage Bureau of Labor Statistics

  • "The Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) is the principal fact-finding agency for the Federal Government in the broad field of labor economics and statistics." The site provides links to a number of statistical resources.

Regulations Related to Labor

Businesses don't operate without government oversight, so lastly, here are links to some federal government agencies with a role in human resource management.

Webpage Americans with Disabilities Act
This is a page from the US Department of Justice with text and other information relative to the Americans with Disabilities Act.

Webpage Equal Employment Opportunity Commission
"The mission of the EEOC ... is to promote equal opportunity in employment through administrative and judicial enforcement of the federal civil rights laws and through education and technical assistance.&quot.

Webpage Occupational Safety and Health Administration
"The mission of the Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA) is to save lives, prevent injuries and protect the health of America's workers." The agency administers the regulations issued under the provisions of the Occupational Safety and Health Act of 1970.

Webpage Federal Gateway to the OPM (Office of Personnel Management)
OPM is the federal government's human resources department. Its "role is to provide guidance to agencies in operating human resources programs which effectively support their missions and to provide an array of personnel services to applications and employees."


Associations and Other Relevant Websites

The Internet is a pretty disorganized place that is getting cluttered with out-of-date, no longer maintained sites, and broken links. Perhaps the best way to approach it is through sites that organize topics of interest to you. You hope you're viewing a site where persons interested in your topic have spent time reviewing the contents of numerous other sites and have provided links to those of value. That's what I've tried to do here: the sites below provide good access ramps to the information highway for high tech and human resource topics.

Anyone can put up a web site. What are the sorts of things to look for as you scan sites to help determine whether what you are looking at is authoritative, accurate, objective, and current? A discussion of these criteria is available from this source: Evaluating What You Find.

Webpage Managing the Digital Enterprise
Managing the Digital Enterprise is a guide to the challenges that face managers in the digital realm. The site is used in conjunction with a graduate course taught at NCSU by Michael Rappa.

Webpage Academy of Human Resource Development
"The Academy of Human Resource Development was formed to encourage systematic study of human resource development theories, processes, and practices; to disseminate information about HRD, to encourage the application of HRD research findings, and to provide opportunitiesfor social interaction among individuals with scholarly and professional interests in HRD from multiple disciplines and from across the globe."

Webpage American Management Association
"American Management Association International is a nonprofit, membership-based educational organization that assists individuals and enterprises in the development of organizational effectiveness, the primary sustainable competitive advantage in a global economy. AMA ... identifies best management practices worldwide to provide assessment, design, development, self-development and instruction services through a variety of print and electronic media and learning methodologies, all designed to enhance the growth of individuals and organizations."

Webpage American Society for Training and Development
ASTD calls itself "the world's premier professional association in the field of workplace learning and performance.... ASTD's mission is to provide leadership to individuals, organizations, and society to achieve work-related competence, performance, and fulfillment."

Webpage Society for Human Resource Management
"The Society for Human Resource Management (SHRM) is the leading voice of the human resource profession. SHRM provides education and information services, conferences and seminars, government and media representation, online services and publications to more than 125,000 professional and student members throughout the world."