Book Reviews Research Guide

Librarian: Cindy Levine

Sources Specializing in Book Reviews

Book Review Digest
D. H. Hill Ref. Z1219 .B66 (Learning Commons)
Print index to book reviews published in general periodicals starting in 1905. Includes excerpts of reviews.

Book Review Index
D. H. Hill Lib. Z1035 .A1 B55 (9th floor, bookstacks)
Print index to book reviews in general periodicals starting in 1965. Includes more periodicals than Book Review Digest, but has no excerpts.

Combined Retrospective Index to Book Reviews in Humanities Journals, 1802-1974
D. H. Hill Ref. AI3 .C62 (Learning Commons)
Indexes book reviews in old (1802-1974) humanities journals. Good for finding early reviews of scholarly books.

Combined Retrospective Index to Book Reviews in Scholarly Journals, 1886-1974
D. H. Hill Ref. Z1035.A1 C64 (Learning Commons)
Indexes book reviews in old (1886-1974) scholarly journals. Good for finding early reviews of scholarly books with a focus on history, political science, and sociology.

Databases: Book Reviews Research Guide

Most current databases index book reviews along with other types of articles.

General Databases

The general databases are the best source for book reviews in popular periodicals. They also include reviews in selected scholarly journals across a variety of subjects.

Academic Search Complete
This databases can be used to find reviews of books in a wide variety of periodicals.

Amazon.com
Includes reviews by readers, as well as some editorial reviews.


Scholarly Databases

Subject-specific scholarly databases are best for finding reviews of scholarly books:

Use the Databases list, then use the pulldown menu to find your subject area. This will show you the core databases for that subject. (For example, look for reviews of history books in a scholarly history database.)

Multidisciplinary scholary databases also include book reviews:

JSTOR
JSTOR includes full text of journal articles (including book reviews) in selected core journals. To search for a reviewed title:
In JSTOR Search box, type:
rt:"name of reviewed title"
Example:
rt:"moral man and immoral society"

Web of Science
Web of Science indexes scholarly journal articles (including book reviews) in many subject fields. For most history books, reviews are likely to appear in either Social Sciences or the Arts and Humanities sections. This selection can be made at bottom of the initial page.
Choose General Search.
Under Topic, enter keywords from title of book.
Under Restrict search (at bottom) choose Book Review