Bioethics: Searching Electronic Databases and Print Indexes for Articles
Databases
When you are looking for journal or magazine articles, the first place
to go is one of our online databases. Unfortunately, there is no one
perfect database for finding articles in bioethics. There are, however,
several which will give you different views of the discipline, from
the point of view of the philosopher, the scientist or clinician, and
the "regular citizen." As always, if you have trouble finding information
on your topic in any of these databases, please feel free to ask
a librarian for help.
Biological
Abstracts (NCSU only) - Provides comprehensive
coverage of worldwide journal literature in the life sciences. Nearly
6,500 international journals are indexed and subjects covered include
agriculture, biochemistry, biotechnology, ecology, immunology, microbiology,
neuroscience, pharmacology, public health, and toxicology. While most
articles in this database cover basic sciences, there are also a number
which deal with bioethics in the general sense. Coverage: 1969-present.
Philosopher's
Index (NCSU only) - "Contains author-written
abstracts covering scholarly research in the fifteen fields of philosophy,
published in journals and books from 38 countries since 1940." This
is an excellent source of scholarly articles in narrow areas of bioethics
from the point of view of philosophers and ethicists, not scientists.
If you are looking for general information, including news and non-scholarly
magazine articles, one good place to look is in one or more of our general
databases, such as Academic
Search Premier (NCSU only), which
provide fulltext access to newspapers, magazines, and some scholarly
journals. To find the complete list of similar databases, select the
"general" subject area in the NCSU Libraries' Databases list.
Additional Databases, Available on the Internet
ETHX on
the Web - Allows a search of the collection of the Kennedy Institute
of Ethics' NRCBL. "Journal articles, book chapters, bills, laws,
court decisions, reports, and news articles relating to bioethics and
professional ethics." URL for Basic Search: http://www.georgetown.edu/research/nrcbl/databases/basice.htm
Genetics
and Ethics - Allows a search of the collection of the Kennedy Institute
of Ethics' NRCBL. "Books, journal articles, book chapters, bills,
laws, court decisions, reports, news articles and audiovisuals."
URL for Basic Search: http://www.georgetown.edu/research/nrcbl/databases/basicg.htm
PubMed
MEDLINE Bioethics - "MEDLINE contains bibliographic citations and
author abstracts from more than 4,600 biomedical journals published
in the United States and 70 other countries. The file contains over
11 million citations dating back to the mid-1960's." To search the bioethics
subfile only, select "LIMITS" from the options just below the search
box, then select "Bioethics" from the pull-down menu options for Subsets.
In this case, note that "bioethics" relates specifically to human medicine
and biology, and does not include the expanded issues of animal rights
and environmental science. Articles contained in this database will
tend to have been written by clinicians and scientists, rather than
by philosophers and ethicists. URL: http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/entrez/
Print Indexes
Bibliography of Bioethics
"Annual index containing over 3,600 new citations to documents
in the bioethics area. Published each year since 1975, the bibliography
is derived from bioethics citations added to the NLM databases. It
provides the most comprehensive access to literature about the ethical,
legal, and public policy aspects of health care and biomedical research."
D. H. Hill Reference Z6675 .E8 B53 (1975-present)
Librarian Contact Information
|