Skip to Quick Links BarSkip to Page Content
NCSU Libraries
Search the Collection
Browse Subjects
Services
Library Information
Community
News & Events
Browse Subjects
Get Answers Now
Biochemistry

Home: Biochemistry
Graduate Research

The Literature:
Databases

Search Tips

Obtaining Articles:
Flow Chart
TripSaver/Interlibrary Loan
Search TRLN

Working with the Literature

Posters
Presentations
Publishing

RefWorks

Finding Methods

Journals and Impact Factors:
Search Journals
List of Biochemistry Journals
About Impact Factors

Journal Citation Reports-Science

Keeping up with the Literature

Assistance:
General
Specialized

Biochemistry

Librarian: Eleanor Smith

Guide to Information Skills and Resources
for Graduate Students in Biochemistry

Working with the Literature

Searching Databases

Off-campus Access to Databases and eJournals: Always access electronic resources, including databases and journals, through the library web site to have access to library resources without publisher fees.

Database

Description

Special Features

PubMed

Contains over 15 million bibliographic citations and author abstracts for articles from approximately 3900 current biomedical journals covering the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and the preclinical sciences

MeSH Database for controlled vocabulary

Links to related NCBI resources including genomic and protein structure data

Updated frequently

Web of Science

Web of Science provides access to current and retrospective multidisciplinary information from many of the most prestigious, high impact research journals in the world. Web of Science also provides the ability to search for cited references to an article. **Tips on using Web of Science written by NCSU Librarians**

Citation database—can sort articles by times cited and view citing articles

Can view bibliographies

Updated weekly

SciFinder Scholar

SciFinder Scholar provides access to several Chemical Abstracts Service databases, including Chemical Abstracts, Registry, CASREACT, CHEMLIST, and CHEMCAT. Users may search more than 19 million citations to the chemistry literature by topic, author, CAS Registry Numbers, patent number, and CAS abstract number. More than 22 million chemical substances may be searched by chemical name, chemical structure, CAS Registry Numbers, and formula.

Includes PubMed search

Can search by Registry Number or chemical structure, substructure

Need to download file to search database

BIOSIS Previews

Covers original research reports and reviews in biological and biomedical areas. Coverage includes traditional areas of biology such as botany, zoology, and microbiology, as well as related fields such as biomedical, agriculture, pharmacology, and ecology. Also included are interdisciplinary fields such as medicine, biochemistry, biophysics, bioengineering, and biotechnology.

Detailed indexing, including taxonomy

Will connect to Web of Science to get bibliography and times cited, if record is in both databases

More information about Databases for Biochemistry.

Database Search Tips

Obtaining Items

Working with the Literature (under construction)

  • Reading, Understanding, and Evaluating the Literature
  • Writing Literature Reviews

Posters Presentations – Publishing

RefWorks--managing your citations and creating bibliographies

Finding Methods (under construction)

Journals and Impact Factors

Keeping up with the Literature

  • TOC Alerts (Table of Contents)
  • Database Saved Search Alerts
  • Grant Awards

Assistance


Librarian Contact Information

NCSU Libraries Copyright | Disclaimer | Accessibility | Text Only | Contact Us | Staff Only NC State University