Audio Resources
Audiobooks at NCSU
The NCSU Libraries offers a large collection of audiobooks. The Libraries provides access to:
- works of classic fiction
- best-sellers, book club favorites, and books by award-winning
authors
- selections from the Pimsleur Language Series of easy-to-understand
language lessons for all ability levels and covering 39 languages
Browse all audiobooks
Create a free NetLibrary account
Most of the audiobooks currently available are from NetLibrary. You will need a NetLibrary account in order to download audiobooks. NC LIVE maintains a collection of Frequently Asked Questions related to the NetLibrary audiobooks and their use.
How Do I Play an Audiobook?
Audiobooks can be downloaded and played on any desktop, laptop, or portable
device supporting Microsoft Windows Media Player v9 and above, Musicmatch Jukebox
v8.2 and above, or Nullsoft Winamp v5 and above. (Learn how…)
You can also borrow a portable mp3 player from the Libraries and listen on the go. (Learn how…)
Audio Resources on the Web
Audio Resource Directory Sites
Noteworthy Audio Resource Sites
- American Memory: Sound Recordings - a collection of music and sound recordings from the Library of Congress.
- American Rhetoric - more than 5000 audio and video versions of public speeches, sermons, speeches from movies, legal proceedings, lectures, and more.
- History and Politics Out Loud - archive of noteworthy political speeches.
- History Channel's Great Speeches - famous speeches related to history, military/war, science, exploration, and society.
- LibriVox - free audiobooks from the public domain.
- Vincent Voice Library - "40,000 hours of spoken word recordings, dating back to 1888. The collection includes the voices of over 100,000 persons from all walks of life."
- LiteralSystems -
mp3 file recordings of human-voiced readings and performances of classic literary
works.
Podcast Directories
- Podcast.net - lists more than 18,920 podcasts organized by broad categories.
- iTunes - a collection of more than 25,000 free podcasts available through the iTunes store.
- Yahoo Podcasts (beta) - browse by discipline or search through thousands of podcasts.
NCSU Libraries Podcasts
Other University Podcasts
|