Skip to Quick Links BarSkip to Page Content
NCSU Libraries
Search the Collection
Browse Subjects
Services
Library Information
Community
News & Events
Browse Subjects
Get Answers Now

Home: ASTRONOMY

Article and Preprint Databases

Data Centers

Individual journal tools (from CDS)

Electronic Journals

Tutorial
  (From the CDS)

Professional Organizations

Major Observatories

Software

Astronomy Libraries

Astronomy Research Guide

Professional Associations

Search for astronomy related persons, institutes, or addresses
http://star-www.rl.ac.uk/astrolist/astrosearch.html
Maintained by Stephen Rankin of the Starlink Project. Will give the names, address, phone numbers, and some URLs for thousands of astronomers and facilities around the world.
American Astronomical Society
http://www.aas.org
This is one of the main associations for professional astronomers based anywhere the world. There are over 6,400 individual members. The web site provides information about their journals, committees, divisions, meetings, career services and more.
International Astronomical Union (IAU)
http://www.iau.org/
Founded in 1919. Promotes the science of astronomy in all its aspects through international cooperation. Individual members number over 8,300 professional astronomers from 66 countries. Serves as the internationally recognized authority for assigning designations and names to celestial bodies and any surface features. In other words, one can not purchase a name for a star and get it recognized in the astronomical community -- http://www.iau.org/IAU/FAQ/starnames.html.
Astronomical Society of the Pacific (ASP)
http://www.astrosociety.org/
Founded in 1889, the ASP is an international nonprofit scientific and educational organization that works to increase the understanding and appreciation of astronomy. They have become the largest general astronomy society in the world, with members from over 70 nations. The education section is particularly impressive -- http://www.astrosociety.org/education.html, with some introductory overviews and bibliographies that librarians might be interested in. Some of them are: "Astronomy Education in the U.S.: An Overview," "Astronomy Education Bibliography," "Women in Astronomy: An Introductory Bibliography," and their "Astronomical Pseudo-Science: A Skeptic's Bibliography."
Astronomical Society of Australia
http://www.atnf.csiro.au/asa_www/asa.html
Formed in 1966. The web site contains links to information concerning their membership, meetings, publications, education activities, etc. If one is interested in learning more about astronomical activities in Australia, they have a freely available newsletter -- http://www.atnf.csiro.au/asa_www/newsletter.html

Librarian Contact Information

NCSU Libraries Copyright | Disclaimer | Accessibility | Text Only | Contact Us | Staff Only NC State University