Skip to Quick Links BarSkip to Page Content
NCSU Libraries
Search the Collection
Browse Subjects
Services
Library Information
Community
News & Events
Browse Subjects
Get Answers Now

Home: APA Style and Plagiarism

APA Style

Plagiarism

Citation Management Software
Citation Builder
RefWorks

Tip Sheet and Checklist

Quiz

Education Subject Guide

apa style and plagiarism

Department of Adult and Higher education

APA Style

When citing sources, consistency and completeness are extremely important. The APA style is one of many styles that can be used to ensure that all sources are cited completely, correctly, and with consistency. Reference lists in APA style are required for most assignments in the Department of Adult and Higher Education. The reference list contains all of the sources of information that were cited (e.g., ideas from others used in the text) or quoted (e.g., actual words from others used in the text) in an assignment. The formatting of the reference list enables readers at a glance to know what type of sources (journal articles, books, etc.) have been used. The details of APA style will vary depending on the specific source you are citing, so be sure to follow the APA guidelines carefully. This section will provide tips, examples, and resources relating to APA Style.

NOTE: The 5th edition of the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association is available at the Reference Desk at D.H. Hill Library under the call number BF76.7 .P83 2001.



Tips

Tip 1: Basic Reference List Formatting

The basic format for a scholarly journal article is:

Author, A. A., Author, B. B., & Author,  C. C. (2000).
      Title of article. Title of  Periodical, xx, xxxxxx.

The basic format for an electronic scholarly journal article is:

Author, A. A., Author, B. B., & Author,  C. C. (2000).
       Title of article. Title of  Periodical, xx, xxxxxx.
       Retrieved month day, year, from source.

Example of citing an Internet article based on a print source:

VandenBos, G., Knapp, S., & Doe, J. (2001).
       Role of reference elements in the selection of resources by psychology undergraduates
       [Electronic version]. Journal of Bibliographic Research, 5, 117-123.

Example of citing an electronic copy of a journal article, three to five authors, from a database:

Borman, W. C., Hanson, M. A., Oppler, S. H., Pulakos, E. D., & White,
L. A. (1993). Role of early supervisory experience in supervisor performance. Journal of Applied Psychology, 78, 443-449. Retrieved October 23, 2000, from PsycARTICLES database.

"When referencing material obtained by searching an aggregated database, follow the format appropriate to the work retrieved and add a retrieval statement that gives the date of retrieval and the proper name of the database."

Source: http://www.apastyle.org/elecgeneral.html and http://www.apastyle.org/elecsource.html

Tip 2: Citing a Source Found in Another Source

To cite a source found in another source (AKA secondary sources), "refer to both sources in the text, but include in the References list only the source that you actually used."

Example: the "in-text citation would be "(Bandura, 1989, as cited in Feist, 1998)." Feist (1998) would be fully referenced within the list of References. Bandura (1989) would not be listed. For more information on citing secondary sources, see Example 22 on p. 247 of the Publication Manual."

Source: http://www.apastyle.org/faqs.html#13

Tip 3: Basic In-Text Citations

When incorporating in-text citations for short quotations, "include the author, year of publication, and the page number for the reference (preceded by "p."). Introduce the quotation with a signal phrase that includes the author's last name followed by the date of publication in parentheses. [...] If the author is not named in a signal phrase, place the author's last name, the year of publication, and the page number in parentheses after the quotation. "

Sources: http://owl.english.purdue.edu/owl/resource/560/02/ and http://www.english.uiuc.edu/cws/wworkshop/writer_resources/citation_styles/apa/intext_citation.htm

Tip 4: Headings

Headings should reflect how your paper is organized. Sections should be labeled, and it should be clear which sections are of equal significance and which are subordinate to others.

Source: http://www.wisc.edu/writing/Handbook/DocAPAHeadings.html


Examples

Scholarly Journal Article - Print Scholarly Journal Article - Electronic Book Book Chapter Web Site
Example A - APA Style Example A - APA Style Example A - APA Style Example A - APA Style Example A - APA Style
Example B - OWL Example B - OWL Example B - OWL Example B - OWL Example B - OWL
Example C - Wisconsin Example C - Wisconsin Example C - Wisconsin Example C - Wisconsin Example C - Wisconsin

Resources

APA Style -- http://www.apastyle.org/

APA Format (Univ. of Minn. - Crookston)
APA Style Essentials (Vanguard Univ. of Southern Calif.)
APA Tutorial (Univ. of Southern Miss.)
Bibliography Styles Handbook: APA (Univ. of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign)
Citing Resources (Univ. of Texas)
Using APA Format (Purdue)
Writer's Handbook: APA Documentation Style (Univ. of Wisconsin)


Librarian Contact Information

NCSU Libraries Copyright | Disclaimer | Accessibility | Text Only | Contact Us | Staff Only NC State University