Skip to Quick Links BarSkip to Page Content
NCSU Libraries
Search the Collection
Browse Subjects
Services
Library Information
Community
News & Events
Browse Subjects
Get Answers Now

Home: ANTHROPOLOGY

How to Get Started
Encyclopedias
Dictionaries
Guides

Journal Article Sources
Major Journals
Older Journals
Bibliographies
More Focused Databases
More General Databases
Electronic Journals

Library Catalog for Books and Journal Titles
Books
Journal Titles
Interlibrary Loans

Government Publications

Internet Resources

Additional Help

Anthropology Research Guide

Government Publications

The NCSU Libraries has an extensive collection of Federal government documents. Those that have been published since 1976 can be searched in electronic databases, including the library's online catalog. The most comprehensive of these electronic versions of the Monthly Catalog of U.S. Government Publications is available from OCLC.

The D. H. Hill Library Federal documents collection contains approximately 86% of the publications listed in the Monthly Catalog.

Many of the publications in the library's Federal documents collection are older than 1976 and can not be searched electronically. For material issued prior to 1976, use the printed Monthly Catalog of U.S. Government Publications shelved in the U.S. Documents Reference area on the second floor, north tower, to obtain call numbers for this material.

The Federal documents collection is housed in the second floor tower stack areas of the library. The collection is arranged by a separate classification system -- the Superintendent of Documents (or SuDoc) classification scheme -- which arranges material by the government agency responsible for the publication. Such an arrangement is not good for browsing since many agencies may have published books on a given topic.

Examples:

The modernization of three Korean villages, 1951-1981 : illustrated study of a people and their material culture / Eugene I. Knez
216 p., 1997.
D. H. Hill Docs. SI 1.33:39
From the series, Smithsonian contributions to anthropology.

Cultural perspectives on food and nutrition / Marcy Schveibinz,
67 p., 1994.
D. H. Hill Docs. A 17.24:94-03

Artifacts of diplomacy : Smithsonian collections from Commodore Matthew Perry's Japan Expedition (1853-1854)
155 p., 1995.
D. H. Hill Docs. SI 1.33:37

Directory of cultural resource education programs at colleges, universities, craft and trade schools in the United States
97 p., 1994.
D. H. Hill Docs. I 29.126:C 89

Documenting maritime folklife : an introductory guide / David Alan Taylor
81 p., 1992.
D. H. Hill Docs. LC 39.9:18
From the series, Publications of the American Folklife Center

Skagway, district of Alaska, 1884-1912 : building the gateway to the Klondike / Robert L. Spude
162 p., 1983.
D. H. Hill Docs. I 29.2:Sk 1/1884-1912

U.S. Bureau of American Ethnology. Annual Reports.
1880-1950
D. H. Hill Docs. SI 2.1:
Extensive reports of native American ethnographic investigations.

U.S. Bureau of American Ethnology. Bulltins.
200 volumes
D. H. Hill Docs. SI 2.3:
A series of monographs on native American ethnographic investigations, many linguistic.

Librarian Contact Information

NCSU Libraries Copyright | Disclaimer | Accessibility | Text Only | Contact Us | Staff Only NC State University