Skip to Quick Links BarSkip to Page Content
NCSU Libraries
Search the Collection
Browse Subjects
Services
Library Information
Community
News & Events
Browse Subjects
Get Answers Now

Home: ANTHROPOLOGY

How to Get Started
Encyclopedias
Dictionaries
Guides

Journal Article Sources
Major Journals
Older Journals
Bibliographies
More Focused Databases
More General Databases
Electronic Journals

Library Catalog for Books and Journal Titles
Books
Journal Titles
Interlibrary Loans

Government Publications

Internet Resources

Additional Help

Anthropology Research Guide

Librarian: Jack McGeachy

Information to Get Started

You may want to start your research with an informative survey of your chosen subject area. Such a resource will give you an overview of the subject, and can help you create a framework for organizing your topic. You may also want to find definitions of anthropological terms and concepts, as well as explanations of current research trends. Encyclopedias, dictionaries, and guides can help you get started.

Encyclopedias

Companion encyclopedia of anthropology
D. H. Hill Reference GN25 .C65 1994 (6th floor, Reference Stacks)

Encyclopedia of cultural anthropology
D. H. Hill Reference GN307 .E52 1996 (6th floor, Reference Stacks)

History of physical anthropology
D. H. Hill Reference GN50.3 .S64 1997 (6th floor, Reference Stacks)

Encyclopedia of social and cultural anthropology (1998 ed.)
Encyclopedia of social and cultural anthropology
D. H. Hill Reference GN307 .E53 1996 (6th floor, Reference Stacks)

Dictionaries

Dictionary of anthropology (2000 ed.)
Dictionary of anthropology
D. H. Hill Reference GN307 .D485 1997 (Ready Reference - Reserve Room)

International dictionary of anthropologists
D. H. Hill Reference GN20 .I5 1991 (6th floor, Reference Stacks)

Social and cultural anthropology : the key concepts / Nigel Rapport and Joanna Overing
D. H. Hill Reference GN316 .R37 2000 (6th floor, Reference Stacks)

Guides

These next two books describe the research process that you will use to find source material -- books, journal articles, authoritative Internet sites -- for papers. They both also include good bibliographies which will, in turn, lead you to more specialized books on your topic.

Introduction to library research in anthropology / John M. Weeks
D. H. Hill Reference GN42 .W44 1997 (Ready Reference - Reserve Room)

Fieldwork in the library : a guide to research in anthropology and related area studies / R.C. Westerman
D. H. Hill Tower stacks GN42 .W47 1994

The next resource identifies strong anthropological collections around the country -- in case you're interested in taking a research trip.

Anthropological resources : a guide to archival, museum, and library collections
D. H. Hill Tower stacks GN14 .A77 1999

Librarian Contact Information

NCSU Libraries Copyright | Disclaimer | Accessibility | Text Only | Contact Us | Staff Only NC State University