Accounting Research Guide

Librarian: Jennifer Garrett

U.S. Tax . FASB, AICPA publications . CPA exam guides . Associations

 

U.S. and State Tax Sources

 RIA Checkpoint - Search for U.S. federal and state tax information. This database provides full texts of Internal Revenue Code, Federal Tax Coordinator, RIA Federal Tax Handbook, and Handbook of SEC Accounting and Disclosure. Some international coverage.

 LexisNexis Academic - Provides full text to many accounting sources such as AICPA titles, MIller GAAP and GAAS guides, SEC publications, and others.

 Business Source Complete - Search for full text articles and citations on accounting topics, including those from the Journal of Accountancy (1965-present).

Webpage U.S. Tax Code Online

 

Quick Look-ups: Directories, dictionaries and handbooks

 Blackwell encyclopedic dictionary of accounting (e-book)

 International Dictionary of Accounting Acronyms (e-book)

Webpage CPA Directory

Webpage Tax and Accounting Associations Directory

 

FASB, AICPA Publications

WebpageFinding Accounting Statements
Guide on locating original prouncements.

Online access to (selected) FASB and AICPA materials is available from these sources:

Webpage FASB Pronouncements and EITF Abstracts

Webpage FASAB

 LexisNexis Academic
-- Provides full text to many accounting literature such as AICPA titles, Miller GAAP and GAAS guides, SEC publications, etc. Look for them in the "Sources" tab.

 

CPA Examination Study Guides and Performance Data

Most recent editions are in DH Hill Library, 1st Floor, East Wing (under the same call numbers below). Older editions are found in DH Hill Library Stacks.
Some are also available as e-books through  NetLibrary.

BooksCPA Examination Review -- HF5661 .C7234

BooksWiley CPA Examination Review:

  • Auditing and Attestation -- HF5667 .C67
  • Business Environment and Concepts -- KF889.5 .C16
  • Regulation -- HF5661 .C7235
  • Financial Accounting and Reporting, Business Enterprises -- HF5661 .C7232

 

Associations and Organizations

Webpage American Accounting Association
http://aaahq.org/index.cfm

Webpage American Institute of Certified Public Accountants (AICPA)
http://www.aicpa.org/

Webpage Financial Accounting Standards Board (FASB)
http://www.fasb.org/

Webpage Federal Accounting Standards Advisory Board (FASAB)
http://www.fasab.gov/

Webpage Government Accounting Standards Board (GASB)
http://www.gasb.org/

Webpage Institute of Internal Auditors (IIA)
http://www.theiia.org/

Webpage Institute of Management Accountants (IMA)
http://www.imanet.org/

Webpage International Financial Reporting Standards (IFRS)
http://www.ifrs.org/

Webpage International Federation of Accountants (IFAC)
http://www.ifac.org/

Webpage National Association of State Boards of Accountancy (NASBA)
http://www.nasba.org/

 

More Information Online

Webpage AuditNet.org
http://www.auditnet.org

Webpage IAS Plus - Deloitte, Touche, Tomatsu
http://www.iasplus.com/en

Webpage Tax and Accounting Sites Directory
http://www.taxsites.com/