Resources by Discipline: Social Sciences: Writing Resources Guide

The following social sciences disciplines are included in this section:

General Social Sciences | Anthropology | Business, Management & Economics
Communication Studies | Criminology & Law | Education
Political Science | Psychology | Sociology & Social Work


General Social Sciences

Print Resources

  • Making sense : a student's guide to research and writing : social sciences -- D.H. Hill Stacks: H61.8 .N67 2009

    A concise guide for students at all levels of undergraduate study in the social sciences, covering research practices, writing (including grammar, punctuation and style), as well as coverage of MLA, APA, and SSS reference styles.

  • Good essay writing : a social sciences guide -- D.H. Hill Stacks: H61 .R43 2006

    Focused on writing in the social sciences, this book discusses approaches to different essay questions, guidelines for supporting arguments, and breaks down example essays to help students improve their writing.

  • Social research methods : qualitative and quantitative approaches -- D.H. Hill Stacks: H62 .B439 2000

    Aimed at both students and researchers, this book focuses on both qualitative and quantitative social science research methods, including background, designing research, data collection, and analysis.

Additional Print Resources

Online Resources


Business, Management & Economics

Print Resources

  • The business writer’s handbook -- D.H. Hill Stacks: HF5726 .B874 2006

    A reference for all types of business writing, this guide includes a range of topics including business plans, finding a job, and proposals.

  • Writing a convincing business plan -- Veterinary Medicine Stacks: HD30.28 .D477 2008

    A handbook for developing a business plan, it provides the basics on drafting an executive summary, financing proposals, business descriptions and operating plans.

  • Effective writing: a handbook for accountants -- D.H. Hill Stacks: HF5719 .M375 2009

    Written for accounting students, this book discusses the different types of communication those in the profession actually use. Major sections include communication strategies, business documents, and oral communication.

Additional Print Resources

Online Resources

E-books


Anthropology

Print Resources

  • Tales of the field: on writing ethnography -- D.H. Hill Stacks: GN307.7 .V36 2011

    A guide for students, scholars, and practitioners of ethnography, contains information on doing fieldwork and writing about different cultures.

  • Writing up qualitative research -- D.H. Hill Stacks: T11 .W65 2009

    Focused on writing in the social sciences, this book discusses approaches to different essay questions, guidelines for supporting arguments, and breaks down example essays to help students improve their writing.

Additional Print Resources

Online Resources


Communication Studies

Print Resources

  • Writing for journalists -- D.H. Hill Stacks: PN4783 .H53 2008

    Learn the style and techniques of journalistic writing such as news stories, features, and reviews. Includes a glossary of journalistic terms.

  • Writing for television, radio, new media -- D.H. Hill Stacks: PN1990.9 .A88 H55 2008

    Provides an introduction to writing for all types of media, including television, radio and the Internet.

  • Writer’s digest handbook of magazine article writing -- D.H. Hill Stacks: PN147 .W67 2005

    From finding ideas, to interviewing, writing an article, working with editors and the businesses and rights-related issues, this handbook covers all aspects of magazine article writing.

Additional Print Resources

Online Resources


Criminology and Law

Print Resources

  • The criminal justice student writer’s manual -- D.H. Hill Stacks: HV9950 .C74323 2011

    Sections of this comprehensive guide to criminal justice research and writing include writing probation and parole reports, police reports, agency case studies, and policy analysis papers.

  • Legal writing: the strategy of persuasion -- D.H. Hill Stacks: KF250 .B7 1994

    Focuses on legal writing and the strategies of legal persuasion. Includes 15 legal writing problems.

  • A manual of style for contract drafting -- D.H. Hill Stacks: KF807 .A33 2008

    Learn how to draft a contract based on clear prose, to avoid the common problems that afflict contract writing. The appendix includes a before, annotated and after contract samples.

Additional Print Resources

Online Resources


Education

Print Resources

Additional Print Resources

Online Resources


Political Science

Print Resources

Additional Print Resources

Online Resources


Psychology

Print Resources

  • The principles of writing in psychology -- D.H. Hill Stacks: BF76.7.S57 2004

    In-depth guide for writing essays, literature reviews, and research reports in psychology, applicable to all levels of psychology writing. .

  • How to write in psychology : a student guide -- D.H. Hill Stacks: BF76.8.B425 2009

    Targeted at students of all levels, this book helps writers in psychology navigate the often-challenging stylistic prescriptions of psychology writing.

  • Mastering APA style: student's workbook and training guide -- D.H. Hill Stacks: BF76.8.G452

    A student-focused training guide for all aspects of the sixth edition of the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association. Features exercises and tests that allow students to learn APA style through application.

Additional Print Resources

Online Resources


Sociology & Social Work

Print Resources

  • The sociology student writer's manual -- D.H. Hill Stacks: HM585.S638 2010

    A comprehensive writing and research manual aimed at sociology students in introductory and advanced sociology courses.

  • The handbook of social work research methods -- D.H. Hill Stacks: HV11.H342 2010

    A comprehensive writing and research manual aimed at sociology students in introductory and advanced sociology courses.

  • Preparing research articles -- D.H. Hill Stacks: HM569.T49 2008

    Concise manual for preparing research projects to be published in a social work journal. Includes advice on picking journals, revisions, and complex issues like impact factors and electronic publishing.

Additional Print Resources

Online Resources