Skip to Quick Links BarSkip to Page Content
NCSU Libraries
Search the Collection
Browse Subjects
Services
Library Information
Community
News & Events
Library Information
Get Answers Now

Library Diversity Home

Peer Research Advisors Program

Resource Guides

Programs

Diversity Events at NC State

Diversity@NC State

Women's History Month - Library Resource Guide

Below are selected reference sources, websites, databases, and books that highlight the wide range of information sources that are available for the exploration of women’s issues. Also included are some suggested search strategies for located additional information through the NCSU Libraries Catalog. For help finding more, Ask A Librarian.

General | History | Arts and Humanities | Science | Sociology | NCSU | Videos

General

New York Public Library Research Guide
http://www.nypl.org/research/chss/grd/resguides/women/background.html
Bibliography of reference sources for women’s studies. This is a good starting point for research.

WSSLINKS (Women and Gender Studies Websites)
http://libr.org/wss/WSSLinks/index.html
Collection of websites for women’s studies, put together by the Women’s Studies Section of the Association of College and Research Libraries.

American National Biography
Biographical reference source with information on notable Americans. Each entry includes a scholarly overview, guidance for further study, and, when available, information on where the persons papers are archived. The Custom Search page allows searchers to look for entries on women.

Women's Studies Encyclopedia / edited by Helen Tierney
D.H. Hill Ref. HQ1115 .W645 19999

The Quotable Woman: The First 5,000 years / compiled and edited by Elaine T. Partnow
D.H. Hill Ref. PN6081.5 .Q65 2001

What American Women Did, 1789-1920 : A Year-by-Year Reference / by Linda Miles Coppens
D.H. Hill Ref. HQ1154 .C665 2001


History

North American Women's Letters and Diaries
Letters and diaries depicting the personal experiences of hundreds of women. Contains materials from Colonial times to 1950. Allows browsing by place, by year, and by event.

Feminae: Medievel Women and Gender Index
http://www.haverford.edu/library/reference/mschaus/mfi/mfi.html
Index to journal articles, book reviews, and essays in books about women, sexuality, and gender during the Middle Ages.

Godey’s Ladys Book (1830-1885)
Magazine aimed at a women, founded in Philadelphia in 1830. Includes extensive fashion descriptions and plates, the early issues included biographical sketches, articles about mineralogy, handcrafts, female costume, the dance, equestrienne procedures, health & hygiene, recipes & remedies, etc. Eventually became important literary magazine.

Handbook of American Women's History / edited by Angela M. Howard and Frances M. Kavenik
D.H. Hill Ref. HQ1410 .H36 2000

Women During the Civil War : An Encyclopedia / Judith E. Harper ; foreword by Elizabeth D. Leonard
D.H. Hill Ref. E628 .H37 2004

Women in the Middle Ages : An Encyclopedia / edited by Katharina M. Wilson and Nadia Margolis.
D.H. Hill Ref. HQ1143 .W643 2004

Sallie Bingham Center for Women's History and Culture
http://scriptorium.lib.duke.edu/women/
Primary women's studies resource material on from Special Collections at Duke University

Documents from the Women’s Liberation Movement
http://scriptorium.lib.duke.edu/wlm/
Online archival collection documenting various aspects of the Women's Liberation Movement in the United States, and focusing specifically on the radical origins of this movement during the late 1960s and early 1970s. Items range from radical theoretical writings to humourous plays to the minutes of an actual grassroots group.

African American Women
http://scriptorium.lib.duke.edu/collections/african-american-women.html
Online archival collections of selected material from Duke Special Collections.

Civil War Women
http://scriptorium.lib.duke.edu/collections/civil-war-women.html
Online archival collections of selected material from Duke Special Collections.

America: History and Life
Use to find scholarly research in journal articles in the field of U.S. and Canadian history.

Historical Abstracts
Use to find scholarly research in journal articles in the field of world history outside the U.S and Canada.

 


Arts and Humanities

Women and Music in America Since 1900 : An Encyclopedia / edited by Kristine H. Burns
D.H. Hill Ref. ML82 .W625 2002

Women in Scripture : A Dictionary of Named and Unnamed Women in the Hebrew Bible, the Apocryphal/Deuterocanonical books, and the New Testament / edited by Carol Meyers
D.H. Hill Ref. BS575 .W593 2000

Who's Who in Contemporary Women's Writing / edited by Jane Eldridge Miller
D.H. Hill Ref. PN471 .W465 2001

American Women Writers : A Critical Reference Guide from Colonial Times to the Present / editor, Taryn Benbow-Pfalzgraf
D.H. Hill Ref. PS147 .A42 2000

Chinese Women Traversing Diaspora : Memoirs, Essays, and Poetry / edited by Sharon K. Hom
D.H. Hill Lib. DS732 .C558 1999

British Women Romantic Poets, 1789-1832: Links to Works
http://old.lib.ucdavis.edu/BWRP/

Iranian Women Poets
http://www.artarena.force9.co.uk/womenp.htm

MLA International Biography
Use to find scholarly research in journal articles in the field of literature.

ATLA Religion Database
Use to find scholarly research in journal articles in the field of religion.

Art Index and Art Index Retrospective
Use to find scholarly research in journal articles in the field of art. [Both databases may be searched together.]

Further Information: Search the NCSU Libraries Catalog. Suggested search strategies:

Subject Heading: Women and Literature
Subject Keywords: Women Authors
Subject Heading: Women Poets
Subject Heading: Women Musicians


Science

International Encyclopedia of Women Scientists / Elizabeth H. Oakes
D.H. Hill Ref. Q141 .O27 2002

International Women in Science : A Biographical Dictionary to 1950 / Catharine M.C. Haines ; with Helen M. Stevens.
D.H. Hill Ref. Q141 .H2167 2001

The Biographical Dictionary of Women in Science : Pioneering Lives from Ancient Times to the Mid-20th Century / edited by Marilyn Ogilvie and Joy Harvey
D.H. Hill Ref. Q141 .B5285 2000

A to Z of Women in Science and Math / Lisa Yount.
D.H. Hill Ref. Q141 .Y675 1999

Archives of Women in Science and Engineering
http://www.lib.iastate.edu/spcl/wise/wise.html

Reflections on Gender and Science / Evelyn Fox Keller.
D.H. Hill Lib. Q175 .K28 1985

History of Science, Technology, and Medicine
Use to find scholarly research in journal articles in the field of history of science.

Further Information: Search the NCSU Libraries Catalog. Suggested search strategy:

Subject Heading: Women in Science


Sociology

Contemporary Womens Issues
Full text articles from a variety of sources on a broad range of women's issues.

American Women: Who They Are & How They Live / by the New Strategist editors.
D.H. Hill Ref. HQ1421 .A486 2002
Compiled from U.S. census data.

Encyclopedia of Women Social Reformers / Helen Rapaport
D.H. Hill Ref. HQ1236 .R29 2001

Eat My Words : Reading Women's Lives Through the Cookbooks They Wrote / Janet Theophano.
D.H. Hill Lib. TX644 .T47 2002

Sociological Abstracts
Use to find scholarly research in journal articles in the field of sociology.

PsycInfo
Use to find scholarly research in journal articles in the field of psychology.

Further Information: Search the NCSU Libraries Catalog. Suggested search strategies:

Subject Heading: Women – United States – Social Conditions
Subject Keywords: Women Social Conditions


NCSU

Celebrating 100 years of women at N.C. State
http://www.lib.ncsu.edu/archives/exhibits/women/1920.htm

Gertrude Cox Exhibit
http://www.lib.ncsu.edu/archives/exhibits/cox/school.html

NCSU Society of Women Engineers Collection
http://www.lib.ncsu.edu/archives/collections/html/swe.html


Videos

Videos are included in the NCSU Libraries Catalog. Search strategy:

Do keyword search with terms of interest. Limit by material to Videos and DVDs
See several examples below:

Behind the Veil: Afghan Women under Fundamentalism [videorecording] / produced and directed by Ricardo Lobo.
D.H. Hill Media Collection HQ1735.6 .B44 2001

Beyond Killing us Softly: The Strength to Resist the Impact of Media Images on Women and Girls [videorecording] / produced and directed by Margaret Lazarus and Renner Wunderlich.
D.H. Hill Media Collection HF5823 .B49 2000

Picturing the Genders [videorecording] / presented by Charles Harrison & Trish Evans.
D.H. Hill Media Collection NX164 .W65 P53 2002

NCSU Libraries Copyright | Disclaimer | Accessibility | Text Only | Contact Us | Staff Only NC State University