Black History Month - Library Guide
The following list of Library and web resources related to African Americans is provided in celebration of February's Black History month. For
help finding additional information please use our Ask
A Librarian service. All print and media resources located in either the D.H. Hill Library or the African American Cultural Center Reading Room.
Books | Journals | Websites
| Electronic Resources | Media
Books
African American Families
Angela Hattery
Call Number: E185.86.H38 2007 | Location: D.H. Hill Library New Book Shelf
Additional books in this subject area: African American Families
Beyond Little Rock: The Origins and Legacies of the Central High Crisis
John A. Kirk
Call Number: E185.93.A8 K57 2007 | Location: D.H. Hill Library
Additional books in this subject area: African Americans--Segregation
Clotel: An Electronic Scholarly Edition
William Wells Brown
Additional books in this subject area: African American Fiction or American literature--African American authors
Dismantling Black Manhood: An Historical and Literary Analysis of the Legacy of Slavery
Daniel P. Black
Call Number: E443 .B47 1997 copy 1 | Location: D.H. Hill Library
Additional books in this subject area: African American Men
Down by the Riverside: Readings in African American Religion
Call Number: BR563.N4 D69 2000 | Location: D.H. Hill Library
Additional books in this subject area: African Americans--Religion
Embracing Sisterhood: Class, Identity, and Contemporary Black Women
Katrina Bell McDonald
Call Number: E185.86.M395 2007 | Location: D.H. Hill Library
Additional books in this subject area: African American women
Encyclopedia of African-American Culture and History: The Black Experience in the Americas
Call Number: E185.E54 2006 (V.1 - V. 6) | Location: D.H. Hill Library Reference
Additional books in this subject area: African Americans--Encyclopedias
From Midnight to Dawn: The Last Tracks of the Underground Railroad
Jacqueline Tobin
Call Number: E450.T62 2007 | Location: African American Cultural Center Reading Room
Additional books in this subject area: Underground Railroad
Furious Flower: African American Poetry from the Black Arts Movement to the Present
Joanne V. Gabbin (ed.)
Call Number: PS591 .N4 F87 2004 | Location: D.H. Hill Library
Additional books in this subject area: American poetry--African American authors
Identity, Family, and Folklore in African American Literature
Lee Alfred Wright
Call Number: PS153 .N5 W75 1995 copy 1 | Location: D.H. Hill Library | Status: Stacks
Additional books in this subject area: American literature--African American authors
Ideology, Identity, and Assumptions
Howard Dodson and Colin Palmer (eds.)
Call Number: E184.7.I34 2007 | Location: D.H. Hill Library
Additional books in this subject area: African Americans--Politics and government or African Americans--Race identity
Messengers: Portraits of African American Ministers, Evangelists, Gospel Singers, and Other Messengers of the Word
David Ritz
Call Number: BR563.N4 R58 2006 | African American Cultural Center Reading Room
Additional books in this subject area: African Americans--Religion
Mine Eyes Have Seen: Bearing Witness to the Struggle for Civil Rights
Bob Adelman
Call Number: E185.61.A235 2007 | Location: African American Cultural Center Reading Room
Additional books in this subject area: African Americans--Civil rights or Civil rights movements--United States
North Carolina Slave Narratives: The Lives of Moses Roper, Lunsford Lane, Moses Grandy, and Thomas H. Jones
William L. Andrews (ed.)
Call Number: E445 .N8 .N67 2003 | Location: D.H. Hill Library
Additional books in this subject area: Slaves--North Carolina or Slavery--North Carolina
The Origins of African American Civil Rights Movement, 1865-1956
Aimin Zhang
Call Number: E185.61 .A425 2002 copy 1 | Location: D.H. Hill Library
Additional books in this subject area: African Americans--Civil rights--History
Race, Equality, and the Burdens of History
John Arthur
Call Number: E185.615.A79 2007 | Location: D.H. Hill Library
Additional books in this subject area: Racism--United States or Race discrimination--United States--History
Running for Freedom: Slave Runaways in North Carolina, 1775-1840
Freddie L. Parker
Call Number: E445 .N8 P35 1993 copy 1 | Location: D.H. Hill Library
Additional books in this subject area: Fugitive slaves
A Separate Reality: The Development of Racial Segregation in Raleigh, North Carolina, 1865-1915
Karl Edward Larson
Call Number: E185.61.L3 1983a | Location: D.H. Hill Library
Additional books in this subject area: Segregation--North Carolina
The Souls of Black Folk: Authoritative Text, Contexts, Criticism
W.E.B. Du Bois; edited by Henry Louis Gates, Jr., Terri Hume Oliver.
Call Number: E185.6 .D797 1999 copy 1 | Location: D.H. Hill Library
Additional books in this subject area: African Americans
The Sounds of Slavery: Discovering African American History Through Songs, Sermons, and Speech
Shane White
Call Number: E443.W49 2005 (and CD) | Location: D.H. Hill Library
Additional books in this subject area: Slaves--Southern States--Songs and music or Slavery--Social aspects
This is How We Flow: Rhythm in Black Cultures
Call Number: E185.T45 1999 | Location: D.H. Hill Library
Additional books in this subject area: African American aesthetics or African American arts
The Vintage Book of African American Poetry
Michael S. Harper and Anthony Walton (eds.)
Call Number: PS591 .N4 V56 2000 | Location: D.H. Hill Library
Additional books in this subject area: American poetry--African American authors or African Americans--Poetry
"We Want Jobs": A History of Affirmative Action
Robert
J. Weiss.
Call Number: HF5549.5 .A34 W44 1997 copy 1 | Location: D.H. Hill Library
Additional books in this subject area: Affirmative action programs--United States--History
Who's Who Among African Americans
Call Number: E185.96.W47 ED.21 2008 | Location: D.H. Hill Library Reference
Additional books in this subject area: African Americans--Biography
Journals & Magazines
African American Review
Online: 1992-2003
Print: 1997-Present (D.H. Hill Stacks: E185.5 .A47)
Black Collegian
Online: 1990-Present
Print: 1990-1995 (Satellite Microforms: LC2781.B45); Current Issues Only (D.H. Hill Current Periodicals)
Black Elegance
Online: 1996-2001
Black Enterprise
Online: 1987-Present
Print: 1970-Present (D.H. Hill Stacks: E185.8.B58)
Black Issues in Higher Education
Online: 1994-Present
Black Scholar
Online: 1991-Present
Print: 1989-1999 (African American Reading Room Stacks: E185.5.B575); 1996-Present (D.H. Hill Stacks: E185.5.B575); 1969-1997 (Satellite Shelving: E185.5.B575 microfilm reel)
Callaloo
Online: 1976-Present
Essence
Online: 1992-Present
Journal of African American History
Online: 2002-Present & Print: 2002-Present; D.H. Hill Stacks: E185.J6
Journal of African American Studies
Online: 2003-Present (Most recent 6 months not available)
Journal of Black Studies
Online: 1970-Present
Print: 1970-Present (D.H. Hill Stacks: E185.5.J8)
Journal of Blacks in Higher Education
Online: 1993-Present
Race & Class
Online: 1959-Present
Print: 1974-1993 (Satellite Shelving: HT1501.R25); 1993-Present (D.H. Hill Stacks)
Additional journal and magazine titles are available on the Journals list under searches for African American or Black anywhere in title.
Websites
African-American Women
An online archival collection from Duke University Libraries
African American World
A guide to African American history and culture from PBS.org
The African-American Mosaic
A resource guide from the Library of Congress for the study of black history and culture.
The
African American Odyssey
Exhibit by the Library of Congress includes slavery, abolition, civil
war, civil rights, documents, etc.
African American
Perspectives
A Library of Congress exhibit of African American history and culture,
spanning almost one hundred years from the early nineteenth through
the early twentieth centuries
American Slave Narratives: An Online Anthology
First hand accounts transcribed from interviews done from 1936 to 1938 of former slaves in the American South. Similar resource available from American Memory, Born in Slavery: Slave Narratives from the Federal Writers' Project, 1936-1938
Archives of African American Music & Culture
Music links selected by Indiana University
Schomburg Center
for Research in Black Culture
Features online exhibits and collections documenting the experiences
of peoples of
African descent throughout the world.
A fairly comprehensive list of additional resources can be found on the Iowa State University site, compiled by Susan A. Vega Garcia
Electronic Resources
Ethnic
Newswatch is a full-text collection of the newspapers, magazines
and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press.
America,
History And Life covers United States and Canadian history from
prehistory to the present.
20th
Century African American Poetry is an authoritative full-text database
offering coverage of African American poetry, drama and prose.
JSTOR includes full-text for a number of arts and humanities topics. With advanced search you can choose to specifically search 8 African American studies journals.but the majority of subjects covered in JSTOR will be useful for locating articles on African Americans.
Project Muse offers full-text access to a number of journals in the humanities and social sciences.
Lexis
Nexis Academic is a collection of recently published articles from
newspapers throughout the country.
Media
African American Art: Past and Present
Book; Video Cassette
Call Number: N6538.N5 A37 1992 (3 tapes) | Location: African American Cultural Center Reading Room
African American Lives (Episodes 1-2)
Streaming Video
African American Lives (Episodes 3-4)
Streaming Video
Are We Different?: Young African Americans Talk About Cultural Difference and Race in America
Video Cassette
Call Number: E185.625.A74 1992 | Location: D.H. Hill Library Media Center
Black, Bold & Beautiful: Black Women's Hair
Video Cassette
Call Number: E185.86.B53 1999 | D.H. Hill Library Media Center
Black Is--Black Ain't: A Personal Journey Through Black Identity
Book; Video Cassette
Call Number: E185.625.B555 1995 | Location: D.H. Hill Library Media Center
Buffalo Soldiers
Video Cassette
Call Number: E185.925.B84 1992 | African American Cultural Center Reading Room Media Collection
Dark Passages
Streaming Video
Eyes on the Prize
Video DVD
Call Number: E185.61.E9 2006 (V.1 - V.7) | Location: D.H. Hill Library Media Center
The Harlem Renaissance and Beyond
Video Cassette
Call Number: PS153.N5 H249 1990 | African American Cultural Center Reading Room Media Collection
Hip Hop: Beyond Beats and Rhymes
Video DVD
Call Number: ML3531.H57 2006 | African American Cultural Center Reading Room
Martin Luther King, Jr.: The Man, His Dream, and the Struggle for Civil Rights
Book; Video Cassette
Call Number: E185.97.K5 M3327 1991 | D.H. Hill Library Media Center
Maya Angelou
Video Cassette
Call Number: PS35551.N464 Z5662 1999 | D.H. Hill Library Media Center
Native Son
Video Cassette
Call Number: PN1997.99.N3842 | Location: D.H. Hill Library Media Center
North Carolina Freedom Movement Project
Video Cassette
Call nUmber: E185.93.N6 N67 2003 | Location: D.H. Hill Library Media Center
Repercussions: A Celebration of African-American Music
Video Cassette
Call Number: M3556.R38 1984 v.3-v.4 | D.H. Hill Library Media Center
The Road to Brown
Video Cassette
Call Number: KF373.H644 R63 1990 | African American Cultural Center Reading Room Media Collection
Roots
Video DVD
Call Number: PN1992.77.R66 2007 | D.H. Hill Library Media Center
The Tuskegee Airmen
Video Cassette
Call Number: PN1997.99.T835 1995 | African American Cultural Center Reading Room Media Collection
Two Black Churches
Video Cassette
Call Number: BR563.N4 T96 1975 | Location: D.H. Hill Library Media Center
The Vanishing Black Male
Video DVD
Call Number: E185.86.V37 2005 | Location: African American Cultural Center Reading Room Media Collection
W.E.B. Du Bois: A Biography in Four Voices
Video Cassette
Call Number: E185.97.D73 W43 1995 | Location: D.H. Hill Library Media Center
This site was created by NCSU Libraries' Diversity Committee
|